核黑暗
language

高警戒状态核武器:被遗忘的威胁

史蒂文斯塔尔提出,美俄两国始终维持核武器处于高警戒状态意味着偶然(或蓄意)全球核战争的威胁并未消失。

虽然冷战在1991年结束了,但是美俄仍然在假想可能遭到对方的核攻击而继续维持他们庞大的核武库。始终未能真正解除冷战期间部署的总共大约2000个战略核弹头的高警戒状态,并且其主要任务依然是摧毁对方的核力量,工业基础设施和政治或军事领导等军事目标。

高警戒状态核武器:简史

高警戒,待发射的核武器,即可操控的火箭推动式核弹头能够在最多15分钟之内启动发射,已在美国和苏联/俄罗斯服役数十年。固体燃料推动的美国民兵洲际弹道导弹(ICBM) 于1962年10月部署进入高警戒状态,至1965年,共部署了800枚I型民兵洲际弹道导弹。在20世纪70年代中期,苏联部署了大量的各种各样第二代液体燃料推动的洲际弹道导弹,具有快速启动发射的能力。

冷战造成的军备竞赛促进了杀伤性武器的开发和研制。核突袭的恐惧加剧了多分导弹头、独立巡航定位再入飞行器ICBMs的发展,这被认为是一次核打击的理想模式。由于目前仍没有建立针对类似攻击的防御系统,那么唯一的军事解决途径就只能是在他们从发射井中发射前将其彻底销毁。

上世纪初到80年代中期,美苏双方部署的自动化的核指挥和控制系统能与预警系统以及携带核弹头的弹道导弹的网络协同运作。因而两国均具有战术预警后不到30分钟内发射战略核导弹的能力,这足够用于从陆基发射携带核弹头的洲际弹道导弹到攻击美苏对方目标的飞行时间

...

阅读文章的其余部分

这篇文章于2008年秋天发表在SGR(Scientists for Global Responsibility)杂志的时事通讯专栏

Nuclear Darkness
language

High-Alert Nuclear Weapons: the Forgotten Danger

Steven Starr argues that the continued maintenance of US and Russian nuclear weapons on high alert means that the threat of accidental (or deliberate) global nuclear war has not gone away.

Although the Cold War is said to have ended in 1991, the US and Russia each still operate under the assumption that the other could authorise a nuclear attack against them. The failure to end their Cold War nuclear confrontation causes both nations to maintain a total of about 2000 strategic nuclear warheads on high-alert status, which can be launched in only a few minutes, and whose primary missions remain the destruction of the opposing side’s nuclear forces, industrial infrastructure, and political/military leadership.

High-alert nuclear weapons: a brief history

High-alert, launch-ready nuclear weapons, i.e. operational rocket-mounted nuclear warheads capable of being launched in 15 minutes or less, have been deployed in the US and the USSR/Russia for decades. The solid-fuelled US Minuteman intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) went on alert in October 1962, and by 1965, 800 Minuteman I missiles had been deployed. By the mid-1970s, the USSR had deployed a variety of second generation liquid-fuelled ICBMs capable of quick launch.

The Cold War created an arms race that led to the development of apocalyptically destructive weapons. Fear of a nuclear surprise attack was exacerbated by the development of ICBMs armed with multiple independently-targeted re-entry vehicles, which appeared to be ideally suited for a nuclear first-strike. Because no defence against such an attack was found to exist, the only military ‘solution’ seemed to require the launch of one’s own ICBMs from their silos before they were destroyed.

By the early to mid-1980s, the US and USSR had each created automated nuclear command and control systems that worked in conjunction with a network of early warning systems and their nucleararmed ballistic missiles. Thus both nations had the capability to launch strategic missiles on tactical warning in less than 30 minutes, the nominal flight time of land-based ICBMs travelling between the US and Russia.

...

Read the rest of the article here

This article has been published in the SGR Newsletter of Autunm 2008