核黑暗
language

高警戒状态核武器的发展史

虽然冷战在1991年已经结束,但是美国和俄罗斯双方仍然暗自进行军事推演,假设对方可能会启动针对另一方的核攻击。由于未能结束冷战时期核对抗的根本原因,两个国家目前都保持了大约2000个战略高度警戒状态的核弹头,可以在短短几分钟内被发射实施攻击,其主要任务依然是打击对方的核力量,工业基础设施和消灭政治或军事领导者。

高戒备,待发射状态的核武器,即最多15分钟之内就能够可操作发射的火箭式核弹头,已在美国和苏联|俄罗斯部署了数十年。固体燃料的美国民兵洲际弹道导弹(ICBM) 于1962年10月开始装备部队。到1965年,美国已部署800枚民兵洲际弹道导弹。在20世纪70年代中期,苏联部署了多种类的第二代液体燃料ICBMs,它具有快速启动的能力。

冷战造成的军备竞赛直接导致了大规模杀伤性武器的研制和开发。对核突袭的恐惧加剧了携带多个独立定位系统的分导核弹头的洲际弹道导弹的研制和发展,他被认为最适合用于第一次核打击。由于目前还没有针对类似这样攻击的防御体系,那么唯一的军事解决途径就是需要在洲际弹道导弹从发射井或其他发射装置发射前,将其摧毁。

因此,我们能很明显的发现,保持核力量时刻处于待发射状态的主要目的是,当遭到来自其他国家的核突袭(第一次核打击),能在第一时间迅速做出反应以防止进一步的威胁。 为了做到这一点,必须具备以下三个重要组分: (1)导弹具有快速启动发射的能力, (2)预警系统有探测突袭的能力(3)核指挥和控制系统有能够传达攻击警告的能力,使决策者能通过这一系统在攻击到达之前快速启动他们的核力量的命令。

上个世纪80年代初期和中期,美国和苏联都研制出自动化的核指挥和控制系统。能将预警系统和携带核弹头的弹道导弹的网络系统结合起来。随后,两个国家证实了从战术预警到陆基发射携带核弹头的战略洲际弹道导弹的所耗费的时间不到30分钟。

Nuclear Darkness
language

History of High-Alert Nuclear Weapons

Although the Cold War is said to have ended in 1991, the US and Russia each still operate under the assumption that the other could authorize a nuclear attack against them. The failure to end their Cold War nuclear confrontation causes both nations to currently maintain a total of about 2000 strategic nuclear warheads on high-alert status, which can be launched in only a few minutes, whose primary missions remain the destruction of the opposing side’s nuclear forces, industrial infrastructure, and political/military leadership.

High-alert, launch-ready nuclear weapons, i.e. operational rocket-mounted nuclear warheads capable of being launched in 15 minutes or less, have been deployed in the US and the USSR/Russia for decades. The solid-fuelled US Minuteman inter-continental ballistic missile (ICBM) went on alert in October 1962 and, by 1965, 800 Minuteman I missiles had been deployed. By the mid-1970s, the USSR had deployed a variety of second generation liquid-fuelled ICBMs capable of quick launch.

The Cold War created an arms race which led to the development of apocalyptically destructive weapons. Fear of a nuclear surprise attack was exacerbated by the development of ICBMs armed with multiple independently-targeted re-entry vehicles, which appeared to be ideally suited for a nuclear first-strike. Because no defense against such an attack was found to exist, the only military ‘solution’ seemed to require the launch of ICBMs from their silos before they were destroyed.

Thus, it seems clear that the primary purpose of keeping nuclear forces ready to launch literally at a moments notice is prevent their destruction from a surprise nuclear attack. But in order to do so, three critical components had to exist: (1) missiles capable of quick launch, (2) Early Warning Systems capable of detecting a surprise attack, and (3) a nuclear command and control system capable of relaying the attack warning to leadership who could then issue an order (through this system) for the quick-launch of their nuclear forces before the attack arrived.

By the early to mid-1980s, the US and USSR had each created automated nuclear command and control systems that worked in conjunction with a network of early warning systems and their nuclear-armed ballistic missiles. Consequently, both nations had demonstrated the ability to launch strategic missiles on tactical warning in less than 30 minutes, the nominal flight time of land-based ICBMs traveling to and from the US to Russia.