核黑暗
language

反对预警即发射

参阅 :

拥有高警戒状态,能快速启动发射的洲际导弹,预警系统和核指令和控制网络系统使得美国和俄国具有超强的预警即发射(LoW)能力。即这些系统间的联合协作能够为他们查证核攻击并在突袭到达之前提供足够的时间,迅速实施对敌核报复性打击程序,并根据此次核攻击警告的程度发射多枚携带核弹头的洲际导弹。美国和俄国被认为是唯一有能力执行预警即发射的国家。

当预警系统发现可疑的核攻击时,它可以迅速决定如何针对此次核攻击实施报复性核反击。因为导弹在到达攻击目标前的空中飞行时间很短,所以要求一枚携带有核弹头的陆基洲际弹道导弹(ICBM)必须能在30分钟或更少的时间内完成美国至俄罗斯之间的空中飞行,反之亦然;一枚潜艇发射的弹道导弹(SLBM)能在15分钟或更短时间到达打击目标。

因此,一旦来自敌国的核攻击被发现和确认,通过指挥系统,美国和俄罗斯总统将有至多12分钟做出决定(一艘核潜水艇发动攻击只需2或3分钟),是否在已察觉的核攻击到来之前对其发动报复性核攻击。 如果遭受核攻击的警告最后被证实是错误的,但是一项报复性核反击的计划已经实施了,那么偶然性的核战争将会发生。

尽管预警即发射有显而易见的危险,美国和俄罗斯数十年也一直努力使他们的发射次数减到最少,这个情况似乎至今依然存在。由于两国间均恐惧潜在的核攻击将毁坏他们的指挥,控制系统和发射井基的力量;且因为他们清楚在战争情形下,双方均会将核设施-核力量作为优先考虑的重点打击目标,这实际上也促进了双方制定预警即发射的军事策略。

一些美国官员曾经承认美国具有预警即发射的能力,但却从不愿承认预警即发射是美国运作核战略的一个基本部分。退休军官(包括博士布鲁斯・布莱尔,一名前民兵洲际弹道导弹的发射官员)告诉我们,预警即发射的战略理念多年前就已经被转变成核政策和标准操作程序,一直持续至今。

俄罗斯当然也不愿承认预警即发射是核战略计划的中心部分,即使曾在苏联总参谋部任职的一名前高级军官在书中写到预警即发射始终是俄国战略火箭部队的一个标准操作程序。

消减高警戒状态核武器、快速启动发射核武器系统,根据定义,将销毁美国和俄国预警即发射的能力,也就不可能对于一次误判攻击警告做出报复性核反击的决定。

Nuclear Darkness
language

Launch-on-Warning

See :

Possession of high-alert, quick-launch missiles, Early Warning Systems and nuclear command and control networks have given the US and Russia the capability to Launch-on-Warning (LoW).  That is, the combination of these systems gives them the capacity to detect an enemy nuclear attack and order a retaliatory launch of nuclear-armed missiles (based upon a warning of this attack) before the arrival of the perceived attack is confirmed by nuclear detonations. The US and Russia are the only two nations believed to have the capacity to carry out Launch-on-Warning.

When Early Warning Systems warn of an impending nuclear attack, then decisions on how to respond to the perceived attack have to be made very quickly because the flight times of the missiles are very short.  30 minutes or less are required for a nuclear-armed land-based Intercontinental Ballistic Missile (ICBM) to travel between the U.S. and Russia and vice versa; 15 minutes or less for a Submarine Launched Ballistic Missile (SLBM) to reach its target.

Thus, once the attack is detected, evaluated and passed up the chain of command, the U.S. and Russian president would have at most 12 minutes (only 2 or 3 minutes for an attack launched by a nuclear sub) to make the decision to launch a retaliatory nuclear strike before the arrival of the perceived attack.  If the perceived warning turns out to be false but a retaliatory nuclear strike has already been launched, then accidental nuclear war will have occurred.

Despite the apparent dangers of LoW, the US and Russia for decades strove to minimize their launch times, and this situation seems to continue even to this day.  Because both nations fear a nuclear attack would destroy their command and control systems and silo-based forces, and because they know that their military plans will list each other’s nuclear forces as primary targets in the event of war, this creates in essence a de facto Launch-on-Warning policy for both sides.

US officials have, in the past, acknowledged the US LoW capability, but have never conceded that LoW is a fundamental part of US operational nuclear policy. Retired military officers (including Dr. Bruce Blair, a former Minuteman launch officer) tell us that this capability was long ago converted into policy and standard operating procedure, and that such policy still remains in place today.

Russia also will not admit that LoW is central to its operational planning, although a former high-ranking officer who served in the Soviet General Staff has written that LoW still is a standard operating procedure in Russia’s Strategic Rocket Force.

Elimination of high-alert, quick-launch nuclear weapon systems would, by definition, eliminate the ability of the U.S. and Russia to Launch-on-Warning, and thus make impossible the launch of a retaliatory nuclear strike based upon a false warning.