核黑暗
language

恐怖分子引起的核战争

只要美国和俄罗斯仍然维持预警即发射的能力,事实上是预警即发射政策,一次误判的警报就极可能引发核攻击和偶然核战争。 一次错误警报的原因可能不再局限于硬件、软件或者人为评断的失误。现在必须将那些由个人或政府支持的恐怖主义蓄意策划的行动也计算到这个最危险的方程中。

只要美国和俄罗斯仍然维持预警即发射的能力,事实上是预警即发射政策,一次误判的警报就极可能引发核攻击和偶然核战争。 一次错误警报的原因可能不再局限于硬件、软件或者人为评断的失误。现在必须将那些由个人或政府支持的恐怖主义蓄意策划的行动也计算到这个最危险的方程中。

一般很难获得足够的时间来正确辩认核攻击的真实性,因为整个评估和决策是否发动一次报复核攻击的过程只有12到30分钟。 (这就是为什么RLOAD被建议作为针对这一威胁的临时性“解答”。)

在核攻击实际上并未发生的情况下,预警即发射政策可能因一次恐怖分子蓄谋的误导警报而引起报复性核反击。

并且,如果恐怖分子获得了启动发射核武器所需的准入代码,然后进入指挥控制系统,或者亲自操控核武器(即俄国ss-25公路机动发射洲际弹道导弹),他们将随意发射核武器。如果解除核武器的高警戒状态,至少可以避免在这种情况下快速启动这些武器。

Nuclear Darkness
language

Nuclear War caused by Terrorism

As long as the US and Russia maintain LoW capability and a de facto LoW policy, the possibility remains of a false warning triggering a retaliatory nuclear attack and an accidental nuclear war. The possible causes of a false warning are no longer restricted to failures of hardware, software or human judgment. Deliberate acts of individual or state-sponsored terrorism must now be factored into this most dangerous equation.

Such acts could include spoofing radar or satellite sensors of early warning systems to make it appear than an attack is in progress, when in fact no attack has occurred.  This could also be accomplished by the penetration of nuclear command and control computer networks and subsequent introduction of false data into the systems.  Viruses and software could also be downloaded into early warning system computers which would mimic a full-scale nuclear attack.

There could easily not be enough time to properly identify the real problem, given that there are only 12 to 30 minutes allowed for the entire evaluation and decision making process to launch a retaliatory nuclear strike. (This is one reason why RLOAD has been suggested as a temporary “solution” to this threat.)

Launch-on-Warning policy could thus cause the launch of a retaliatory nuclear strike based on a terrorist-generated false warning when in fact no attack had occurred.

Also, if terrorists obtained permission codes required to launch nuclear weapons and then obtained access to the command and control systems, or took physical control of a nuclear weapon (e.g. a road-mobile Russia SS-25), they would be able to launch the weapon(s).  Removing nuclear weapons from high-alert status would at least least prevent the quick-launch of these weapons under such circumstances.