核黑暗
language

常见问题

我们为什么应该担心核武器? 是什么使他们变得如此重要?

目前,美国和俄罗斯所拥有的核武库完全能够彻底摧毁整个世界和人类文明,毁灭地球上一切物种的生存环境。 一旦接到美国和俄罗斯总统发布的命令,短短的几分钟内,这种大规模杀伤力的作战计划将启动发射携带上千枚核弹头的数百枚远程弹道导弹。

这些武器怎么能具有如此巨大的破坏力可以摧毁文明和人类呢?

核武器要比现代战争中使用的任何“常规”高爆炸力的武器高出数百万倍的威力。目前美国武器库中最大的“常规”炸弹有11吨(22,000磅或大约10000的易爆的力量kg)高爆炸力。美国和俄罗斯拥有的最小的战略核导弹的威力就相当于100,000吨(两亿磅或九千一百万公斤)的高爆炸力。

核爆炸产生的热量或巨大的热能并不是地球上自然发生的事。 当核武器引爆后,就类似于一个小星体的形成过程。 爆炸将会产生类似太阳中心的高温,大约数亿摄氏度。

如果武器引爆在包含很多易燃材料的区域,例如大都市,将会形成具有致命高温和光辐射的巨大火球。 这些大火将迅速聚集在一起,形成巨大的单一的火势或者火焰风暴,覆盖方圆数十、数百甚至数千平方英里或公里。

美国和俄罗斯都拥有数千高当量现代战略性核武器,可以随时发射和引爆。 一枚平均尺寸的战略性核武器,若在一个城市上空爆炸,将会立即引燃方圆40到65平方英里的总面积(105到170 km)。

高当量的战略核武器可以引发更大范围的火灾。 一枚一百万吨当量(1百万吨TNT炸药的易爆当量)的核弹将会引燃总面积在100平方英里(260平方公里)的大火。 而引爆一枚两千万吨当量的核弹,可能立即引发2000平方英里(5200平方公里)面积的大火。

一个处于完全燃烧状态下的市区形成的火焰风暴所释放的总能量,实际上要比最初的核爆炸释放的能量高1000倍。 这种核火焰风暴造成的令人难以置信的致命环境状况,会毁灭该地区几乎所有的生命,同时将随之产生大量的有毒、放射性烟雾和灰尘。

一次大规模的美-俄核战争,在大约一个小时的时间内,数千战略性核导弹将在多个城市中爆炸。 众多大都市将可能成为被核弹攻击的目标。所有这些城市都将会被彻底摧毁。

在1小时之内,成千上万平方英里或公里的市区将被核火焰风暴吞没。 周边的一切可燃烧物质均会毁于灰烬。 在不到一天的时间里, 那些由核火焰风暴产生的一亿五千万吨烟尘将迅速上升到云层,进入平流层。

如主页所描述,大量的烟尘将迅速笼罩整个地球周围的平流层,阻挡阳光到达地球。 同时也将毁坏臭氧层的防护作用,造成致命的气候变化,全球平均地表温度将于短时间内降至冰河时期的水平。 在北半球的大陆内部每日最低温度在几年内都将始终低于冰点。

这种灾难性的环境变化与核战争中释放的放射性物质和工业毒素一起,让地球上本来就已经紧张不堪的陆地和海洋生态资源彻底崩溃。 除非是极少数特别单一的生命形式,否则大部分生物物种将在如此严重的打击下而走向绝迹。

大量物种将会濒临绝迹。类似六百五十万年前恐龙和70%当时地球上的物种瞬间消失的情况一样。而由于人类处于生物圈食物链的顶部,这就注定人类与其他大型哺乳动物必然因此而灭亡。

即便是最强有力的国家领导人和最富有的人,他们可能有超级核爆炸的掩体、有医院和长年供应的食物和水,也不太可能生存在单一生命形态的核战争后的世界里。 那些拥有启动核攻击计划的决策者们都应该清醒的认识到没有人能从最后一场全球核浩劫中幸存。

但是,如果核武器在城市爆炸后能导致核黑暗和致命的气候变化,那么为什么在第二次世界大战结束时,广岛和长崎在遭受核武器攻击后却没有发生那样惨烈的情况呢?

原因是,当时在这两个城市引爆的是两枚低当量的核弹,没有产生足够的烟尘,不足以形成那种致命的全球气候变化烟尘层。 换句话说,上百万吨的烟尘才能上升至平流层进而影响全球气候,但是处于一片火海中的广岛和长崎没有产生如此巨大的烟尘。

而且,最新研究表明如果在印度和巴基斯坦的中心城市引爆相当于100倍广岛原子弹核当量的核武器,其产生的烟尘将足够导致灾难性的气候变化。 而这种当量的核武器仅仅只有美国和俄罗斯已经部署和随时可启动的核武器爆炸威力的百分之零点五。

由美-俄核武库引爆的一次大规模核战争,将会释放五千万到一亿五千万吨烟尘进入平流层。 大量的烟尘常年笼罩地球周围,将阻拦大部分阳光到达地球表面。

由美-俄核武库引爆的一次大规模核战争,将会释放五千万到一亿五千万吨烟尘进入平流层。 大量的烟尘常年笼罩地球周围,将阻拦大部分阳光到达地球表面。

为了建立全新的研究模式,美国科学家们采用最新的美国航空航天局Goddard研究所的空间气候模型(模型IE,由政府间协调气候变化问题的委员会共享)。该模型能够模拟从地面到80公里高空范围内的整个对流层、平流层和中间层 。用来推测全球变暖的方法和气候模型也同样用来研究因核战争导致的全球变冷的气候现象。

诚然,因为人类并没有经历一次真正意义上的核战争,所以也就不可能获得有关核战争引发的致命后果的确切信息。但这明显是为了回避进一步研究的借口。而且,这些气候模型已经成功的用于研究火山喷发的烟尘产生的冷却效应。相关的数据和信息也广泛的被美国国家评估系统和国际社会政府间气候变化专业委员会第四次评估报告中采纳。这些气候模型也被成功的预测了火星上的沙尘风暴引起的冷却效应(尘土阻拦了到达火星表面的太阳光,正如核烟尘在平流层将阻拦到达地球表面的太阳光一样)。

这项研究也被世界上其他国家的科学家们广泛应用,这个共同的过程称为科学界的“同行评审”。所有经此气候模型推测的重要数据和被广泛接受的科研成果都要经过这类审查,以便进一步确认其可靠性,可重复性,及准确性。

换句话说,这些有关全球变暖或全球变冷的气候变化的研究中所采用的最好和最权威的传统科学方法,已经被世界各地的科学家们反复检验。这一过程已经提供给我们大量的科学发现,这是过去几个世纪的重大进步。全球科学界都有这样一个共识,即这些科学发现应该受到应有的重视并籍此采取相应的行动。

如果核战争可以毁灭人类,那为什么还有那么多的国家继续维护和发展其核武器呢? 核武器是否真的可以防止战争?

核大国们将核武器作为国家军事力量的基石(美国、俄罗斯、英国、法国、中国、以色列、印度和巴基斯坦)。这是大部分国家都这样做的出发点,因为他们奉行核威慑的战略理念。即他们相信拥有核武器可有效阻止其他国家的军事攻击。 相反,如果没有核武器,他们认为将极有可能收到来自核大国的核武器攻击。

因而核威慑依然是作为美国、俄罗斯及其它拥有核武器国家至关重要的战略手段。 同时核威慑又进一步为持续保留核武库提供了十分合理的借口。

美国国防部军事词典里提到, “威慑是一种精神状态,是由一个被确信存在的威胁以令人难以接受的反作用形式造成”。当前“可信威胁”的理念如果具体落实到了美、俄两国巨大的核武库上,那就意味着引爆的核武器产生的杀伤力,相当于二次世界大战期间所有军队引爆的所有炸弹爆炸威力的1000倍。似乎相当清楚这些“不可接受的反作用”构成了这个星球上大多数人的毁灭。

那些有相同核威慑理念的领导人也相信没有销毁核武器的现实途径。 他们羞于启齿的问题是随着时间的推移,是否就剩下两种选择? 坚持核军火库的威慑政策还是切实地寻求一个无核武器世界的方案?

赞成永久保留核武器,并维护和使其具有合法性的人,经常倾向于认为销毁核武器是一种“破坏稳定”的行为,他们认同核威慑将可永远有效的防止核战争。 然而,这种长期的乐观主义思想既不符合逻辑,也不符合历史的发展规律。

只要各方保持理性并仍然畏惧死亡,那么核威慑仍将发挥它的作用。不管有多大威胁的可能,许多极端主义组织还是不会受到任何可信威胁的报复。回顾人类历史,由于国家领导者的不理智和草率决定而引发战争的例子真是不胜枚举。核武器与决策者的一时冲动结合起来,不但使核战争存在可能性,最终还将不可避免的发生。

这种近乎于自杀的军事理念根本称不上是一种防御手段。

如果国家安全的最终目标是确保国家的存在,那么通过核威慑的方式来达到该目标的想法将注定是彻底失败的。 因为核威慑在规模和军事力量的组成上没有一个理性的限制,因而数万枚核武器被制造出来。 他们时刻处于发射状态并且耐心地等待启动指令,其结果不仅会毁坏我们的国家,同时也将摧毁地球上的所有国家。

因此,核威慑一旦失效,就将不可避免的走向人类历史的终结。 一次大规模的核战争将使我们的星球永久失去居住的环境。 据预测,即使发生在印度和巴基斯坦之间的一次核冲突,引爆的核当量仅仅相当于全球核军火库易爆力量的百分之零点五,其结果也足以导致全球气候的灾难性破坏。

那些选择用核武器“保卫”国家的决策者们必须面对这样的事实,即核战争是自杀而不是可用于保障该国公民长久生存的手段。这种近乎于自杀的军事理念根本称不上是一种防御手段。

如果我们选择接受“没有现实可行的途径去彻底销毁全球核武器”的观念,那么我们实际上是对后代子孙的未来宣判,他们的世界注定处于黑暗之中。 我们必须拒绝这种能驱使我们走向深渊的20世纪陈旧的思维方式,要充分了解核武器对人类可能造成的威胁。

Nuclear Darkness
language

FAQ

Why should we worry about nuclear weapons? What makes them so important?

The nuclear arsenals now available for immediate use by the US and Russia have the capability to destroy civilization and humanity, along with most complex forms of life on Earth. This supreme act of destruction can be carried out in only a matter of minutes once the order is given by the US and/or the Russian president to launch hundreds of long-range ballistic missiles armed with thousands of nuclear warheads.

How can any weapons be powerful enough to destroy civilization and humanity?

Nuclear weapons are up to a million times more powerful than the “conventional” high-explosive weapons used by armies in modern warfare. The largest “conventional” bomb in the US arsenal today has the explosive power of 11 tons (22,000 pounds or about 10000 kg) of high explosive. The smallest strategic nuclear weapon owned by the US and Russia has an explosive power equal to 100,000 tons (200 hundred million pounds or 91 million kg) of high-explosive.

The heat or thermal energy created by a nuclear explosion is not something which occurs naturally on Earth. When a nuclear weapon detonates, it resembles the birth of a small star. The explosion creates temperatures which are similar to those found at the center of the Sun, on the order of hundreds of millions of degrees Celsius.

A huge fireball forms which gives off deadly heat and light that will start fires for miles in all directions, if the weapon is detonated over areas that contain large amounts of flammable materials, such as a large city. These fires will quickly join together to form an enormous single fire, or firestorm, covering tens, hundreds or even thousands of square miles or kilometers of surface area.

The U.S. and Russia each have many thousands of large, modern strategic nuclear weapons available for immediate launch and use. A single average size strategic weapon, when exploded over a city, will instantly ignite fires over a total area of 40 to 65 square miles (105 to 170 km).

Large strategic weapons can set fires over much larger areas. A one megaton (1 million tons TNT explosive power) weapon will ignite fires over a total area of 100 square miles (260 square kilometers). The explosion of a 20 megaton weapon can instantly start fires over an area of 2000 square miles (5200 square kilometers).

The total energy released by a firestorm as it completely burns an urban area will actually be 1000 times greater than the energy initially released by the nuclear explosion. The incredibly lethal environment created by the firestorm will kill virtually every living thing in the fire zone and produce enormous amounts of toxic, radioactive smoke and soot.

In a large U.S.-Russian nuclear war, thousands of strategic nuclear weapons would be exploded over cities, probably within the period of a single hour. Many large cities would likely be targeted with numerous weapons. All these cities would be utterly destroyed.

Within an hour, hundreds of thousands of square miles/kilometers of urban areas would be engulfed by nuclear firestorms. Everything remotely combustible would burn in the fire zones. In less than a day, up to 150 million tons of smoke produced by these fires would quickly rise above cloud level, into the stratosphere.

As described on the homepage, the smoke would quickly form a global stratospheric smoke layer, which would act to block sunlight from reaching the Earth. This would destroy the protective ozone layer and cause deadly climate change, plunging average global surface temperatures to well below Ice Age levels in a matter of days. Minimum daily temperatures in the continental interiors of the Northern Hemisphere would remain below freezing for a period of years.

Such cataclysmic environmental changes, combined with the massive release of radioactive and industrial toxins from the nuclear war, would collapse the Earth's already stressed terrestrial and marine ecosystems. Many if not most complex forms of life would not be able to withstand such an event.

A mass extinction event would occur, similar to that which wiped out the dinosaurs and 70% of all other species 65 million years ago. Humans live at the top of the food chains and we would surely perish along with other large mammals.

Even the most powerful leaders and richest humans, who had super-shelters equipped with nuclear power, hospitals, and many years supply of food and water, would be unlikely to survive in a post-nuclear war world devoid of complex life forms. Those who can push the buttons should know that there is no escape from the ultimate destruction of a global nuclear holocaust.

If exploding nuclear weapons in cities will cause nuclear darkness and deadly climate change, then why didn't this happen after Hiroshima and Nagasaki were destroyed by nuclear weapons at the end of World War II?

The burning of two medium-sized Japanese cities did not produce enough smoke to create a global smoke layer capable of causing deadly global climate change. In other words, it takes millions of tons of smoke rising into the stratosphere to influence global climate, and incinerating Hiroshima and Nagasaki did not produce this much smoke.

However, new studies indicate that 100 Hiroshima-size nuclear weapons detonated in the large cities of India and Pakistan could produce enough smoke to cause catastrophic climate change. These weapons have only one half of one percent of the explosive power contained in the deployed and operational nuclear weapons owned by the U.S. and Russia.

A large nuclear war, in which the U.S. and Russian nuclear arsenals were detonated, would put 50 to 150 million tons of smoke into the stratosphere. This would be enough smoke to block the majority of sunlight from reaching the surface of the Earth for many years.

How do you know the computer studies that predict climate change from nuclear war are correct? How can you test this idea out if nuclear war has never occurred?

To create the new studies, U.S. researchers used the latest NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies climate model (Model IE, shared by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change), which is able to model the entire troposphere, stratosphere and mesosphere from the Earth's surface up to 80 kilometers. The same methods and climate models used to predict global warming were used in these studies to predict global cooling resulting from nuclear war.

While it is true that it is impossible to be certain of the results of a nuclear war without actually fighting one, this obviously is one method of study we must avoid. However, these climate models have proved highly successful in describing the cooling effects of volcanic clouds during extensive U.S. evaluations and in international intercomparisons performed as part of the Fourth Assessment of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. These types of models have also been used to successfully predict the cooling effects of dust storms on Mars (dust blocks the sun from reaching the surface of Mars, just as smoke in our stratosphere would block sun from reaching the surface of the Earth).

This research has also been extensively evaluated by other scientists around the world, in a common scientific process called “peer review”. All important and widely accepted scientific studies undergo this type of review in order to find if the studies are verifiable, repeatable and without error.

In other words, the studies which predict climate change from global warming or global cooling have been performed in the best and most honored traditions of the scientific method, and have been reviewed by scientists around the world. This process has provided us with most of the scientific discoveries and advances of the last several centuries. There is a large consensus in the global scientific community that these results should be taken seriously and acted upon.

If nuclear war can destroy mankind, then why do nations continue to maintain and modernize their nuclear weapons? Do nuclear weapons prevent war?

Nations which keep nuclear weapons as the cornerstone of their military arsenals (the U.S., Russia, the U.K., France, China, Israel, India, and Pakistan) do so in large part because they subscribe to the ideas of nuclear deterrence. That is, they believe their possession of nuclear weapons will deter other nations from attacking them. Conversely, they believe that if they did not have nuclear weapons, they would be more likely to be attacked by a nation which did possess them.

Thus nuclear deterrence remains as a key operational strategy of the U.S. and Russia - and every other Nuclear Weapons State. Deterrence provides the rationale for the continued existence of all nuclear arsenals.

The U.S. Department of Defense Military Dictionary says, “Deterrence is a state of mind brought about by the existence of a credible threat of unacceptable counteraction.” The current “credible threat” posed by operational U.S. and Russian nuclear weapons is equal to 1000 times the explosive power of all the bombs detonated by all the armies during World War II. It seems quite clear that the “unacceptable counteraction” posed by these weapons includes the destruction of most people on the planet.

The same leaders who rely upon deterrence also believe that there is no realistic path to the abolition of nuclear weapons. The question they fail to ask is what are the likely outcomes over time of these two alternative courses of action? Is it ultimately more dangerous to persist with nuclear arsenals governed by deterrence policies or to instead earnestly pursue a nuclear-weapons-free world?

Those who see utility and legitimacy in the perpetual maintenance of nuclear weaponry often tend to regard nuclear abolition as a “destabilizing” goal, and apparently assume that deterrence will forever prevent a nuclear war. Their long-term optimism, however, is supported neither by logic nor history.

Deterrence will continue to work only as long as all sides remain rational and fear death. Many extremist groups, however, are undeterred by any credible threat of retaliation, regardless of how large that threat might be. And history is filled with examples of irrational leaders and decisions which lead to war. Nuclear weapons combined with human fallibility not only make nuclear war possible, they will eventually make it inevitable.

Suicide is not a defense.

If the ultimate goal of national security is to ensure the survival of the nation, then the pursuit of this goal through nuclear deterrence should be viewed as an utter failure. Because deterrence set no rational limits on the size and composition of military forces, tens of thousands of nuclear weapons were created. They still are ready and patiently waiting to destroy not only our nation, but every nation on Earth.

Thus, the consequences of a single failure of deterrence could be the end of human history. A large nuclear war will make our planet uninhabitable. Even a conflict between India and Pakistan, that detonates less than one half of one percent of the explosive power of the global nuclear arsenal, is predicted to cause catastrophic disruptions of the global climate.

Leaders who choose to “defend” their nations with nuclear weapons must face the fact that nuclear war is suicidal and not an option if their citizens are to survive. Suicide is not a defense.

Should we choose to accept the assertion that “there is no realistic path to a world free of nuclear weapons”, then we sentence the children of the world to a dark future indeed. We must instead reject this 20th century mindset, which is still driving us towards the abyss, through an understanding that nuclear weapons pose a threat to the human species.