核黑暗
language

概述

核武器是具有大规模杀伤力的终极武器,能在数分钟内摧毁多个城市和国家。 核武器又像是一种生态定时炸弹; 因为由核爆炸产生的致命的放射性残留物会长期弥散于广阔空间,进而会引发疾病,生物物种的突变,甚至某些种群的绝迹。核武器同时也是种族灭绝的工具; 最初的核爆炸可以直接导致成千上万人丧生,而后残留的放射性物质和引发的环境问题会持续威胁地球上人类和众多生物的生存。

拥有核武器的国家籍此向全世界证明自己获得的超乎寻常的力量。可对于这些拥有核武器的国家, 其邻国和敌对国家都会认为他们丧失人性,目的邪恶,不可信任。任何敌对国家一旦拥有了核武器,那么这种敌对状态将会永远的持续下去,无法调解。

核武器彻底破坏和摧毁人类崇高的道德观和国与国之间和平相处的共识。核武器可能会使前盟友变成势不两立的仇敌并且最终将我们带进无尽的灾难-核战争。这将引发一场任何人都毫无选择的大屠杀。

核武器不但毁坏传统的民主观念和剥夺个人权利,同时也存在巨大的安全隐患。即使社会治安极好的国家也将会穷于防止核武器横跨边界或港口的走私。

拥有核武器的国家对其他国家来说本身就是一种严重的威胁。所谓,拥有就可能隐藏着意图。不管是公开或是隐藏,这种威胁都是客观存在的。恐怖分子的威胁可能是持有一个或一些武器;但是拥有核武器的国家带来的威胁却是他们持有的数百甚至数以万计的杀伤性武器。

任何一个拥有核武库的国家都会制定一个有效地维护和使用核武器的详细计划。 因此拥有核武器的国家随时都可能对他们认为是敌人的国家和人民发动大屠杀。而这个详细的核大屠杀的计划却被命名为核战争事件的标准操作程序。

在美国,这样的计划多年来被称为单一综合作战计划(总核战计划)或者缩写成SIOP。 最终,当计算机保持24小时更新状态并处于核攻击选择阶段时,它被称为“激活的SIOP”。最近,被称为CONPLAN或OPLAN。 STRATCOM阐明,它是一个能有效完成“全球核打击”使命的计划。 毫无疑问相应类似的计划在俄罗斯也一定存在。

在核武库存在了六十年后的今天,我们已经开始接受这一观念,即核武器是世界事务中一个正常和必要的部分。 在经历了数十年的规划调整后,人们私下接受这种毁灭性的大屠杀作为军事法则的基础。 同时,否认现实中可能存在的核战争威胁也成为了人们生活的一种方式。

隐藏在地下掩体中携带有数千核弹头的数百枚导弹,动力装置处于启动状态,随时接受发射人员的指令,整装待命。核潜水艇在大洋底下默默地潜行,随时可能不断旋转发射出核弹头,进而摧毁地球上的任何国家。核弹也仍然安置在海外基地以备战时需要。

然而,在美国,对于核武库的毁坏能力和致命后果,我们并没有真正意义上的全国范围的公众意识。 自1991年冷战结束也再没有关于这个问题的公开辩论或讨论。

即使现在看来,冷战正重新出现--没有任何真正的内部政治辩论,甚至在总统选举期间--围绕核战争的议题始终充满极度自满意识。 通过不知情的选民选举出不知情的领导者,最终好似梦游一样,走向核战争引发的世界毁灭。

整个人类仍然被扣为人质,对不断变化的美国和俄国的国家利益异想天开。 哪些国家对这种能造成人类生存的风险做出过承诺呢?这星球上其它地方的人们也将被一场核浩劫歼灭又会是怎样的情景呢?

如果我们希望继续生存下去,就必须改变现状。 同时必须要让那些政治和军事领导人们深刻了解和承认,除了能使人类灭绝外,他们的核武库不能对任何事情做出长期保证。

Nuclear Darkness
language

Overview

Nuclear weapons are the ultimate weapons of mass destruction, capable of destroying entire cities and nations in minutes. They are biological time bombs; deadly radioactive residues created by nuclear explosions are dispersed indiscriminately over time and space to kill, sicken and mutate future generations of all living things. They are instruments of genocide; their initial effects kill millions and their longer-term radiological and environmental effects threaten the continued existence of humans and most complex forms of life on Earth.

Nuclear weapons convey an almost mythological degree of power to those who possess them. Nations that obtain nuclear weapons are transformed, within the minds of their neighbors and rivals, into inhuman entities whose intentions are always evil and untrustworthy. Any enemy with a nuclear weapon becomes an absolute enemy.

Nuclear weapons thus act to corrupt and destroy supremely important moral values and the shared human experience which allow nations to live together in peace. Nuclear weapons have turned former allies into implacable foes and have brought us all to the edge of the ultimate disaster, nuclear war. They have made mass murder an option accepted by all.

Nuclear weapons create security demands which destroy democratic traditions and eliminate individual rights. Even a complete police state will be hard pressed to prevent nuclear weapons from being smuggled across its borders or carried into its harbors.

Nations that possess nuclear weapons implicitly threaten all other nations with their use. Possession implies intent. Whether the threat is overt or covert, the threat exists. Terrorists threaten with one or a few weapons; nations threaten with hundreds or thousands of weapons.

Any nation which has a nuclear arsenal actively maintains detailed plans for the use of that arsenal. Thus nations which own nuclear weapons actively plan for the mass murder of the populations of the nations which they consider their enemies. Such plans for nuclear mass murder become codified, given names and become standard operating procedure in the event of nuclear war.

In the U.S., such plans were for many years called the Single Integrated Operational Plan, or SIOP. Eventually it came to be called “the living SIOP” when computers kept it updated 24 hours a day with nuclear strike options. Most recently it has been called CONPLAN or OPLAN. STRATCOM documents state that it is now designed to fulfill a “Global Strike” mission. And there is no doubt that similar plans exist in Russia.

Sixty years of nuclear arsenals have conditioned us to accept nuclear weapons as a normal and necessary part of world affairs. Decades of planning for their use have made us implicitly accept mass murder as the foundation of military doctrine. Meanwhile, denial of the reality of nuclear war has become a way of life.

Hidden in the shadows, hundreds of missiles armed with thousands of nuclear warheads still sit waiting in their underground silos, with their motors powered up and launch crews standing by for orders. Nuclear subs glide silently beneath the oceans, each constantly rotated in and out of positions where they can fire enough warheads to destroy any country on Earth. Nuclear bombs are still positioned in overseas bases in case they are needed for war.

However, here in the US, we have no real national public awareness of the extent and nature of our nuclear arsenal. There has been no public debate or discussion of this issue since the end of the Cold War in 1991.

Even as it now appears that the Cold War is returning - without any serious internal political debate, even during a presidential election - there remains a deadly sense of complacency surrounding the subject of nuclear war. We have an uninformed leadership followed by an uninformed electorate, which together seem to be sleep walking towards nuclear extinction.

The entire human population is still held hostage to the whims of ever changing national interests of the United States and Russia. What national goal exists that warrants risking the continued existence of the human species? What about the interests of the other living inhabitants of this planet who will also be wiped out by a nuclear holocaust?

If we wish to continue to exist, we have to change this dynamic. Political and military leaders must be made to understand and admit that their nuclear arsenals cannot in the long-term guarantee anything other than the destruction of the human race.