核黑暗
language

销毁核武器条约

ICAN 网站(销毁核武器的国际运动,参阅 (Nuclear Weapons Convention )

一项关于核武器公约的案例
+
-

核武器公约(NWC)是一个禁止核武器和确保销毁核武器的公约。各国在法律层面上被要求商讨此公约,而且相关专家已经提出了一部草案文本。 他们讨论到 NWC比一系列支离破碎和莫衷一是的核裁军可能会更成功。

该草案以禁止化学武器、生物武器和杀伤性地雷的协定为蓝本。它将很好的补充而不是破坏现有的核武器条约,例如不扩散条约(NPT)和全面禁止核试验协定条约(CTBT)。 这是有可行性、必要性和持久性的。

有何作用

NWC将禁止发展,测试,生产,储存,转运,使用核武器和核威胁,也禁止生产可用于制造核武器的核裂变材料(高度浓缩铀或被分离的钚)。它将要求所有拥有核武器的国家按阶段销毁核武器(如下所示),并在最后阶段将所有核裂变至于国际社会的监管之下,以防止被再用于制造核武器。

如何验证

核武器公约将设立一个机构,以确保各国遵守条约的规定。这一机构将对有核武器国家的武器设施进行检查,并获得进度报告。通过来自卫星摄影和遥感器的数据,监控可用于制造核武器的材料生产和转运情况。

如何产生

  1. 将核武器从高度戒备,快速启动发射状态解除
  2. 拆除已部署的核武器
  3. 从其运载工具上拆除核弹头
  4. 拆除爆炸装置使核弹头失效
  5. 经缔约国家一致同意签署的相关条约,将核裂变材料至于国际社会监管之下。
下载

SOS救援中心:ICAN网站上的一项核武器公约的案例。

仅下载NWC文本文件:

购买硬拷贝

NWC认可的重要步骤
+
-

  1. 以哥斯达黎加和马来西亚提交给2007核不扩散条约准备会议的信件作为将核武器示范公约提交给联合国核不扩散条约大会的理论依据,附于联大核不扩散大会 2010/PC.I/WP.17号文件中
  2. 通过哥斯达黎加的积极努力,最终促成了核武器条约和核武器示范公约在2007年不扩散核武器条约准备会议上通过。
  3. 以哥斯达黎加和马来西亚提交给联合国秘书长的信件作为将核武器示范公约提交至联合国大会的理论依据,附于联合国第A/62/650号文件中。 - UN Doc A/62/650
  4. 由马来西亚介绍了联合国大会第GA/63/49号决议关于向国际法院咨询有关核武器的威胁或使用核武器的合法性的意见,呼吁通过多边谈判履行核武器公约,并通过国际法院使其具有合法性,进而敦促各方确实履行核裁军的义务。
  5. 马来西亚向国际法院介绍了联大62/39号决议并向其咨询有关核威胁或使用核武器合法性的意见,解释了核武器公约的途径与核不扩散措施的联系,同时也讲解了单边,双边和多边裁军谈判的途径
  6. 核不扩散条约的执行工作文件接下来将向国际法院咨询关于核威胁和使用核武器的合法性的意见:包括建立和维持一个无核武器世界所需要的法律,技术和政治等方面的因素。核不扩散会议2005第WP.41号文件。
  7. 联合国秘书长潘基文具有里程碑意义的演讲题为《“传染性”核威慑的理论使核不扩散政策的推广举步维艰》,其中他呼吁各国政府通过谈判达成一揽子计划或一项全面的核武器公约,切实履行核裁军的义务。
  8. 支持核武器公约的议会声明。
  9. 两千多个组织共同发起2000年销毁核武器的声明,呼吁签署核武器公约
  10. 2008年10月,国际防止核战争医生联盟的约翰洛雷斯在联合国大会发表声明,向第一委员会(非政府组织声明)总结了不扩散核武器条约的现状,有核国家对此的执行情况,和签署核武器公约的必要。

Nuclear Darkness
language

A Treaty to Eliminate Nuclear Weapons

From ICAN (the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, see ican Nuclear Weapons Convention )

The case for a Nuclear Weapons Convention
+
-

A Nuclear Weapons Convention (NWC) is a proposed treaty to ban nuclear weapons and ensure their elimination. Countries are legally required to negotiate such a treaty, and experts have already produced a draft text. They argue that an NWC is more likely to succeed than a series of fragmented and inconsistent approaches to nuclear disarmament.

The draft treaty is modeled on similar conventions outlawing chemical weapons, biological weapons and anti-personnel landmines. It would complement rather than undermine existing nuclear weapons treaties, such as the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) and the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT). It is feasible, necessary and long overdue.

What would it do?

The NWC would prohibit the development, testing, production, stockpiling, transfer, use and threat of use of nuclear weapons, as well as the production of fissile material suitable for making them (either highly enriched uranium or separated plutonium). It would require all nuclear-armed countries to destroy their nuclear weapons in stages (see below), the last stage being to place all fissile material under international control to prevent nuclear weapons ever being made again.

How would it be verified?

The NWC would establish an agency to ensure that countries comply with the terms of the treaty. This body would receive progress reports from nuclear-armed states, conduct inspections of weapons facilities, acquire data via satellite photography and remote sensors, and monitor the production and transfer of materials suitable for making nuclear weapons.

How would it happen?

  1. Remove nuclear weapons from high-alert, quick launch status
  2. Remove nuclear weapons from deployment
  3. Remove the warheads from their delivery vehicles
  4. Disable the warheads by removing the explosive “pits”
  5. Place the fissile material under international control through a mechanism agreed by the States Parties to the treaty.
Download

Securing Our Survival (SOS): The Case for a Nuclear Weapons Convention from the ICAN website. (the principle authors of the book are Mervn Datan, Felicity Hill, Jurgen Scheffran and Alyn Ware). 

Download the full document in sections:

Buy a hard copy

Important steps towards the adoption of a NWC
+
-

  1. Letter submitted to the 2007 NPT Prep Com by Costa Rica and Malaysia on the rationale for submitting the Model Nuclear Weapons Convention to the NPT, with the Model Nuclear Weapons Convention attached - NPT/CONF.2010/PC.I/WP.17
  2. Intervention by Costa Rica to the 2007 NPT Prep Com on promotion of a NWC and the use of the Model NWC.
  3. Letter submitted to the United Nations Secretary General by Costa Rica and Malaysia on the rationale for submitting the Model Nuclear Weapons Convention to the United Nations General Assembly - with the Model Nuclear Weapons Convention attached - UN Doc A/62/650
  4. UN General Assembly Resolution GA/63/49 on Follow-up to the advisory opinion of the International Court of Justice on the Legality of the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons, introduced by Malaysia and which calls for implementation of the disarmament obligation affirmed unanimously by the ICJ through multilateral negotiations leading to the conclusion of a Nuclear Weapons Convention;
  5. Introduction by Malaysia of UN Resolution GA 62/39 on Follow-up to the advisory opinion of the International Court of Justice on the Legality of the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons, explaining the relationship of the NWC approach to non-proliferation measures, and also the link between unilateral, bilateral and multilateral approaches to disarmament;
  6. Working paper to the NPT on Follow-up to the Advisory Opinion of the International Court of Justice on the Legality of the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons: Legal, technical and political elements required for the establishment and maintenance of a nuclear weapon-free world. NPT/CONF.2005/WP.41
  7. UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon's landmark speech entitled Contagious doctrine of deterrence has made non-proliferation more difficult, in which he called on governments to fulfil their nuclear disarmament obligations through negotiating a package of instruments or a comprehensive nuclear weapons convention.
  8. Parliamentary declaration in support of the Nuclear Weapons Convention.
  9. Abolition 2000 statement - endorsed by over 2000 organisations - calling for a Nuclear Weapons Convention
  10. Statement by John Loretz of the IPPNW at the UN, Oct 2008, summarizing the state of the NPT, the actions of the Nuclear Weapons States, and the need for a Nuclear Weapons Convention, to the First Committee (NGO Statement)