核黑暗
language

稍微缓和的冷战

作者:史蒂文斯塔尔

文章最初出版于哥伦比亚论坛

注释 : 本文未经我的允许改变了我原来的标题,它是:

尚未结束的冷战
核制止与核裁军

在2008年4月首脑会议结束时,总统布什和普京认同冷战已经结束,另一个“古巴导弹危机”将是“不可思议。”站在周围的美国和俄罗斯的军官,每个人拿着一个公文包,各自的总统可以迅速地下达发射命令,这仅需要约3分钟,随后将导致数百枚携带有数千个核弹头的弹道导弹在30分钟内飞向俄罗斯或美国的攻击目标。

虽然公开表示友好,美国和俄罗斯假想敌的战略使他们彼此始终保持着对另一方的核攻击计划。由于未能结束冷战时期核对抗的原因,两国仍保持总量至少2600枚的处于高警戒、待发射状态的核弹头,其主要任务仍然是摧毁对方的核力量,工业基础设施和政府/军方领导人。

大多数美国人不知道这些武器的存在。他们无法想象,一个单一的战略核弹头如果在一个城市或工业区引爆,可能会引发总面积达40到65平方英里范围的巨大火焰风暴。庞大的核武库,被有效地隐藏在公众的视野之外,从公众的认识中删除,从而便于美俄两国总统对外笑称:“我们正处于和平时代”。

另一个古巴导弹危机是“无法想象的”,但俄美间持续的核对抗意味着危机可能随时出现。另一方面,总统又表示自苏联解体后,华盛顿和莫斯科之间的关系一落千丈。同时,核武器问题仍然是美俄间政治分歧的中心。

在2008年4月首脑会议的十一个月前,普京总统透露了一个关于携带多核弹头的新型弹道导弹的核试验计划,这是对美国在东欧部署新型防御系统的回应。布什说,美国导弹防御系统是设计用于拦截来自伊朗的导弹威胁。但是,俄罗斯认为伊朗并没有发射远程导弹的能力,而且短时间内也不可能研发出来。即使伊朗真的拥有了远程导弹,那么拟议中的美国雷达和拦截导弹的地点也要距离发射地点向北数百英里之远。

但是在美国的军事防御体系中,这是一个理想地点。可以去跟踪俄罗斯部署在欧洲军事基地的弹道导弹。 部署在捷克共和国的X波段雷达和部署在波兰的拦截导弹被设定在距离莫斯科800至1000英里的范围内。如果情况相反,那将覆盖着苏必利尔湖的北部边缘地域的俄罗斯部署的导弹。俄罗斯认为这将直接威胁到其战略核武器体系,并警告将导弹瞄准美国部署在捷克和波兰的导弹防御系统。

俄罗斯的论点得到美国两位权威的物理学家乔治刘易斯和西奥多波斯托尔的认同。他们说,美国导弹防御系统能够跟踪和拦截几乎每一枚从俄罗斯乌拉尔以西发射的攻击美国的导弹。他们说,选择在东欧建立导弹防御地点的最明显原因是将美国的拦截导弹更接近俄罗斯,使欧洲基地的雷达和拦截成为阻挡俄罗斯导弹攻击的防御层,也加强了美国日益完善的大陆导弹防御系统。

俄罗斯也深受北约不断扩大和美军基地包围的威胁。尽管俄罗斯强烈反对,布什仍坚持推进乌克兰和格鲁吉亚这两个前苏联加盟共和国获准加入北约。如果发生这种情况,北约部队将驻守在俄罗斯的边境位置。如果乌克兰加入北约,并接受美国在其领土上部署导弹防御系统,那么俄罗斯也将用核弹头瞄准它以示威胁。

作为反苏同盟而建立的北约,在冷战思维的环境下,视俄罗斯为假想敌人,并将核武器作为军事行动的主要选择。480枚美国核炸弹(比法国,英国,中国,以色列核武器总和的威力更大)储藏在欧洲八个北约基地。这些部署的美国核武器结合北约的核攻击计划,可用于攻击中东或俄国的目标。

冷战不会真正结束,直到美国和俄罗斯解除高度警戒状态、待发射的核武库,并最终停止核对抗。只要美国继续为推动北约东扩,而忽略俄罗斯对欧洲导弹防御系统的顾虑,上述情况就肯定不会发生。

史蒂文斯塔尔,“原子能科学家公报”曾对他进行过报导。他的文章刊登在莫斯科物理科技学院武器控制中心,能源环境研究网站上。 他最近刚从医疗工作岗位上退休,目前是一位有关核武器问题的教育者和顾问。

自杀不是防御

即使奥巴马总统推翻了布什政府的军事侵略政策,但他仍需要新的思维真正结束美俄之间的核僵局。这是因为核威慑仍然是美国和俄罗斯-及其他拥有核武器的国家的关键执行战略。核威慑为所有核武库的继续存在提供了合理的借口。

美国国防部军事词典中说,“核威慑是由一种令人无法接受的信任危机的存在引发的一种心理状态。”目前的“信任威胁”,是由美国和俄罗斯拥有的发射状态的核武器,其威力相当于二战期间所有引爆炸弹的1000倍爆炸威力。看来很清楚,由这些核武器引起的这种“不能接受的抵抗”将包括毁灭地球上的大多数人。

许多依赖核威慑的军方高官和政府领导人确信没有废除核武器的现实路径。 他们没有提出的问题是错过这两个备选行动方针时可能产生的结果?通过核威慑的政策继续维持核武库,最终是更加危险?还是一开始就追寻一个无核武器的世界呢?

那些坚持使用和永久持有核武器合法性的人们往往倾向于认为消除核武器会“破坏稳定”,明显的推崇核威慑可以永远防止核战争。他们长期的盲目乐观主义,是无法被历史或逻辑所支持的。

只要各方仍然保持理性和对死亡的恐惧,那么核威慑将一直有效。但是许多极端主义组织,无论可能面临多大的威胁,他们都认为不会受到任何切实的报复。历史上曾出现过无数由丧失理智的领导人和决定直接导致的战争的例子。核武器与人的易错性相结合,不仅可能引发核战争,而且最终将使其不可避免。

如果国家安全的最终目标是确保国家的生存,那么这种通过核威慑的方式来实现,将注定是一个彻底的失败。因为核威慑将不会对军事力量的规模、组成设置任何理性的限制,所以数以万计的核武器便应运而生。这些武器时刻准备并耐心地等待破坏我们的国家和地球上的所有国家。

最近的研究预测,由美-俄核武库一半核武器爆炸引发的火灾,将造成五千万吨的烟尘释放入平流层,并且会阻止到达地球的阳光。由此产生的核黑暗将导致全球气温下降到冰点,或比1.80万年前的上一个冰河时代的温度还要寒冷。核黑暗将持续多年,使农业生产无法进行,并可能导致地球已经岌岌可危的生态系统彻底崩溃。

因此,核威慑的一种单一故障将可能直接导致人类历史的结束。一次大规模核战争将使我们的地球无法居住。即使是印度和巴基斯坦之间的核冲突,也可引爆接近全球核武库百分之零点五的核武器,预计其可导致全球气候的灾难性破坏。核战争没有胜利的一方,也一定不应该发生。

那些选择使用核武器来保护自己国家的领导人必须面对这样的事实,即,对他们仍希望长久生存的公民来说,核战争是一种自杀,而不是一种选择。

如果我们选择接受这样的说法,即“没有实现无核武器的世界的现实途径”,那么我们将提前宣判了子孙后代的核黑暗的未来。相反,了解了核武器已经对全人类构成威胁,我们必须摒弃二十世纪的心态,否则,它会将我们推向深渊。

Nuclear Darkness
language

Cold War Has Thawed Only Slightly

By Steven Starr

Article originally appeared in Columbia Tribune

*Note to readers: the paper changed my original title without my permission, it was:

The Cold War hasn't ended:
Nuclear deterrence versus nuclear disarmament

At the conclusion of their April 2008 summit, Presidents George W. Bush and Vladimir Putin agreed the Cold War was over and that another Cuban missile crisis would be "unthinkable." Standing nearby were U.S. and Russian military officers, each holding a briefcase from which their respective president could quickly transmit a launch order that, in about three minutes, would cause hundreds of ballistic missiles armed with thousands of nuclear warheads to begin their 30-minute flights toward Russia or the United States.

Regardless of public expressions of friendship, the United States and Russia continue to operate under policies that assume each could authorize a nuclear attack against the other. The failure to end their Cold War nuclear confrontation causes both nations together to maintain a total of at least 2,600 strategic nuclear warheads on high-alert, launch-ready status, whose primary missions remain the destruction of the opposing side’s nuclear forces, industrial infrastructure and civilian/military leaders.

Most Americans don’t know these weapons exist. They have no idea a single strategic nuclear warhead, when detonated over a city or industrial area, could ignite an enormous firestorm over a total area of 40 to 65 square miles. The vast nuclear arsenals have effectively been hidden from public view and removed from public knowledge, thus making it easy for smiling U.S. and Russian presidents to proclaim "peace in our time."

Another Cuban missile crisis might be "unthinkable," but the continued U.S.-Russian nuclear confrontation means it certainly isn’t impossible. Presidential assurances to the contrary, the relations between Washington and Moscow are worse than at any time since the fall of the Soviet Union. And nuclear weapons remain at the heart of U.S.-Russian political disagreements.

Eleven months before the April 2008 summit, Putin revealed Russian tests of a new ballistic missile capable of carrying multiple nuclear warheads were a response to the planned deployment of a new U.S. missile defense system in Eastern Europe. Bush said the U.S. system is designed to intercept Iranian missiles aimed at America. Russia argues Iran has no long-range missiles and is not soon likely to have them - and even if it did have them, the sites for the proposed U.S. radar and interceptors are hundreds of miles north of where they should ideally be located.

The U.S. system, however, would be in an ideal spot to track European-based Russian nuclear-armed ballistic missiles. X-band radar in the Czech Republic and missile interceptors in Poland are to be located between 800 and 1,000 miles from Moscow. If the situation were reversed, it would be the geographical equivalent of putting Russian missiles on the northern edge of Lake Superior. Russia views the proposed U.S. system as a direct threat to its strategic nuclear weapons and warns it will target its missiles at the Czech and Polish sites where the system is to be based.

Russian arguments are supported by two respected U.S. physicists, George Lewis and Theodore Postol. They say the U.S. missile defense system would be able to track and engage almost every Russian missile launched toward the United States from Russian sites west of the Urals. The physicists said the only obvious reason for choosing Eastern Europe for a missile defense site is to place U.S. interceptor missiles close to Russia, making it possible for the European-based radar and interceptors to be added as a layer against Russia to the already developing U.S. continental missile defense.

Russia is also deeply threatened by constant efforts to expand NATO and encircle Russia with U.S. military bases. Despite vehement Russian objections, Bush continues to insist the former Soviet republics of Ukraine and Georgia be allowed to join NATO. Should this happen, NATO military forces will be positioned on the borders of Russia. If Ukraine joins NATO and accepts the deployment of U.S. anti-missile defenses on its territory, Russia has threatened to target it with nuclear warheads.

NATO, which began as an anti-Soviet alliance, is locked in a Cold War mentality that regards Russia as the enemy and keeps nuclear weapons as a primary military option. Four hundred eighty U.S. nuclear bombs (a force larger than the entire deployed nuclear arsenals of France, the United Kingdom, China or Israel) are stored at eight European NATO bases. These forward-based U.S. weapons are intended for use, in accordance with NATO nuclear strike plans, against targets in the Middle East or Russia.

The Cold War will not really end until the United States and Russia stand down their high-alert, launch-ready nuclear arsenals and finally cease their nuclear confrontation. This surely will not happen as long as the United States continues to push for NATO expansion while ignoring Russian concerns about its proposed European missile defense system.

Steven Starr is an independent writer who has been published by the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists and the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology Center for Arms Control, Energy and Environmental Studies.  He recently retired from the medical profession to work as an educator and consultant on nuclear weapons issues.

Suicide is Not a Defense

Even if President Obama reverses the aggressive military policies of the Bush Administration, it will require new thinking to truly end the U.S.-Russian nuclear stand-off. This is because nuclear deterrence remains the key operational strategy of the U.S. and Russia - and every other Nuclear Weapons State. Deterrence provides the rationale for the continued existence of all nuclear arsenals.

The U.S. Department of Defense Military Dictionary says, “Deterrence is a state of mind brought about by the existence of a credible threat of unacceptable counteraction.” The current “credible threat” posed by operational U.S. and Russian nuclear weapons is equal to 1000 times the explosive power of all the bombs detonated during World War II. It seems quite clear that the “unacceptable counteraction” posed by these weapons includes the destruction of most people on the planet.

Many military and civilian leaders who rely upon deterrence believe that there is no realistic path to the abolition of nuclear weapons. The question they fail to ask is what are the likely outcomes over time of these two alternative courses of action? Is it ultimately more dangerous to persist with nuclear arsenals governed by deterrence policies or to instead earnestly pursue a nuclear-weapons-free world?

Those who see utility and legitimacy in the perpetual maintenance of nuclear weaponry often tend to regard nuclear abolition as a “destabilizing” goal, and apparently assume that deterrence will forever prevent a nuclear war. Their long-term optimism, however, is supported neither by logic nor history.

Deterrence will continue to work only as long as all sides remain rational and fear death. Many extremist groups, however, are undeterred by any credible threat of retaliation, regardless of how large that threat might be. And history is filled with examples of irrational leaders and decisions which lead to war. Nuclear weapons combined with human fallibility not only make nuclear war possible, they will eventually make it inevitable.

If the ultimate goal of national security is to ensure the survival of the nation, then the pursuit of this goal through nuclear deterrence should be viewed as an utter failure. Because deterrence set no rational limits on the size and composition of military forces, tens of thousands of nuclear weapons were created. They still are ready and patiently waiting to destroy not only our nation, but every nation on Earth.

Recent research predicts that fires caused by the detonation of half of the U.S.-Russian nuclear arsenals would produce 50 million tons of smoke, which would rise to the stratosphere and block much of the sunlight from reaching Earth. The resulting nuclear darkness would cause global temperatures to drop to as cold or colder than they were 18,000 years ago at the height of the last Ice Age. The darkness would persist for many years, making agriculture virtually impossible, and would likely lead to the collapse of the Earth's already stressed ecosystems.

Thus the consequences of a single failure of deterrence could be the end of human history. A large nuclear war will make our planet uninhabitable. Even a conflict between India and Pakistan, that detonates less than one half of one percent of the explosive power of the global nuclear arsenal, is predicted to cause catastrophic disruptions of the global climate. A nuclear war cannot be won and must not be fought.

Leaders who choose to “defend” their nations with nuclear weapons must face the fact that nuclear war is suicidal and not an option if their citizens are to survive. Suicide is not a defense.

Should we choose to accept the assertion that “there is no realistic path to a world free of nuclear weapons”, then we sentence the children of the world to a dark future indeed. We must instead reject this 20th century mindset, which is still driving us towards the abyss, through an understanding that nuclear weapons pose a threat to the human species.