核黑暗
language

和平之路

在1961年9月20号,在贝尔格莱德市,美国和苏联签署了麦克洛伊-佐林协议。这是一个了不起的协议,呼吁“不再有战争”,不但为核裁军,而且也为完全和世界各国普遍裁军提供指导。如果能够找到政治意愿实现它,那么在这些协议中包含的想法仍然可以用来达到这个目标。

约翰肯尼迪,是美国第35届总统,于麦克洛伊协定签署后的第五天,在联合国发表演讲。在讲话中,他做出了这些声明:

今天,地球上每个居民都必须认识到,有一天,这个星球上可能不再适合居住。每个男人,妇女和儿童都生活在一把核武器达摩克利斯之剑下,这把剑由纤细的丝线悬挂空中,丝线能够因为任何意外,误判或疯狂的行为被切断。所以我们必须在核武器毁灭我们之前销毁他们。

人们不再辩论是否军备竞赛是一种症状或引起紧张的原因。现代武器的存在本身就比在世界上曾经出现过的任何武器的威力都强大千万倍,只需几分钟就可攻击地球上的任何目标——它是恐怖、分歧、怀疑之源。人们不再坚持认为,核裁军必须要等到解除一切争端之后或必须是永久解决方案的一部分。并且人们也不再掩饰寻求核裁军是一种软弱的表现。基于愈演愈烈的军备竞赛,即使军力增强了,一个国家的安全很可能却萎缩了。

15年来该组织[联合国]设法削减和销毁武器。现在,这一目标已不再是梦想——这是生死攸关的实际问题。与无休止的军备竞赛相比,核裁军的内在风险就显得苍白无力了。

正是本着这一精神,最近贝尔格莱德会议-认识到这不再是苏联的问题或美国的问题,而是全人类的问题-通过了“全面,彻底和严格意义上的国际监管下的核裁军计划。” [麦克洛伊-佐林协定] 正是基于这种精神,在美国,我们今年的新紧迫感下努力追寻的。现在完全由国会通过的一个新的法定机构,发现一个核裁军的途径。该过程如此深远,但却现实,而且相互均衡和互惠互利,这样可以被每个国家所接受。在这方面,我们和苏联已取得了一致意见—根据该原则,两个国家现在都接受“全面彻底裁军” –这是以共识原则进行谈判的新声明。

但我们都知道,原则问题都还没有完全解决,而且仅仅原则本身是不够的。因此,我们试图建议苏联放弃军备竞赛,转而开始和平竞赛,分步骤、分阶段一起努力,直至全面彻底地实现核裁军。现在,我们邀请他们超越固有原则,同意就具体计划达成协议。

以下是一些相关内容:

Nuclear Darkness
language

A Roadmap for Peace

On September 20, 1961, in the city of Belgrade, the United States and the Soviet Union signed the McCloy-Zorin Accords. This remarkable agreement, which calls for “War No Longer”, set guidelines for not only nuclear disarmament, but complete and general disarmament of all nations of the world. Should the political will be found to achieve it, the ideas contained in these Accords can still be used to reach this goal.

John F. Kennedy, the 35th President of the United States, gave a speech to the United Nations five days after the McCloy-Zorin Accords were signed. During his speech, he made these statements:

Today, every inhabitant of this planet must contemplate the day when this planet may no longer be habitable. Every man, woman and child lives under a nuclear sword of Damocles, hanging by the slenderest of threads, capable of being cut at any moment by accident or miscalculation or by madness. The weapons of war must be abolished before they abolish us.

Men no longer debate whether armaments are a symptom or a cause of tension. The mere existence of modern weapons--ten million times more powerful than any that the world has ever seen, and only minutes away from any target on earth--is a source of horror, and discord and distrust. Men no longer maintain that disarmament must await the settlement of all disputes--for disarmament must be a part of any permanent settlement. And men may no longer pretend that the quest for disarmament is a sign of weakness--for in a spiraling arms race, a nation's security may well be shrinking even as its arms increase.

For fifteen years this organization [the United Nations] has sought the reduction and destruction of arms. Now that goal is no longer a dream--it is a practical matter of life or death. The risks inherent in disarmament pale in comparison to the risks inherent in an unlimited arms race.

It is in this spirit that the recent Belgrade Conference--recognizing that this is no longer a Soviet problem or an American problem, but a human problem--endorsed a program of "general, complete and strictly an internationally controlled disarmament." [the McCloy-Zorin Accords] It is in this same spirit that we in the United States have labored this year, with a new urgency, and with a new, now statutory agency fully endorsed by the Congress, to find an approach to disarmament which would be so far-reaching, yet realistic, so mutually balanced and beneficial, that it could be accepted by every nation. And it is in this spirit that we have presented with the agreement of the Soviet Union--under the label both nations now accept of "general and complete disarmament"--a new statement of newly-agreed principles for negotiation.

But we are well aware that all issues of principle are not settled, and that principles alone are not enough. It is therefore our intention to challenge the Soviet Union, not to an arms race, but to a peace race- -to advance together step by step, stage by stage, until general and complete disarmament has been achieved. We invite them now to go beyond agreement in principle to reach agreement on actual plans.

Here are some related content: