核黑暗
language

为全人类服务的SOS救援中心

SOS救援中心
一项核武器公约的案例

核武器赋予了人类自我毁灭的能力,严重降低了地球维持生命的能力,哪怕仅仅维持几个小时。如果不能消除这些令人恐怖的核武器,尤其是在当前越来越容易获得核武器的情况下,人类在二十一世纪生存将不会得到保证。

为什么?有许多理由可以证明某人、某地、某时间使用核武器的潜在危险正离我们越来越近

  • 制造炸弹的相关知识越来越多
  • 可用于制造炸弹的材料越来越多;
  • 极度渴望使用炸弹的人越来越多;
  • 库存缺乏,裂变(核爆炸)材料安全措施不足;
  • 缺乏禁止炸弹和从世界武器库中销毁它的国际决心;
  • 不但毫无进展,而且事实上,正在逆转来之不易的核裁军已取得的成果;
  • 逐渐增加的对无核国家使用核武器的威胁,包括先发制人策略。
  • 由于在防止铀浓缩和反应堆燃料再加工时提取钚等方面缺乏有效的保障措施和其他办法,导致这两种燃料的核扩散。

在1995年联合国核武器审议和扩大会议上,参与核不扩散条约的国家一直同意在 第六条的基础上,“进行系统的和不断努力,减少全球核武器,并以彻底消除核武器为最终目标。”

拥有核武器违背了十多条国际法的基本原则的。重要的是,1996年7月,国际法院对核威胁或使用核武器的合法性的咨询意见一致认为,“各国有义务真诚地进行谈判并达成 协议,使核裁军在各个方面接受国际社会严格有效的监督。“

消减核武器是可以实现的:什么是核武器示范公约?

为了确保我们的生存环境,有必要提出在世界范围内分阶段销毁核武器的一项核武器公约,即国际公约的示范草案或一揽子协定。核武器公约打破了人们普遍认定的关于核裁军是无法实现的梦想的看法。它提供了一个无核武器世界可能的情景,并介绍了如何真正地进行核裁军,及由各方实施地安全销毁核武器的现实可行的步骤。

本文中的核武器示范公约的框架已经于2007年进行了修订和更新。其始于哥斯达黎加提交给联合国秘书长的示范公约,并作为讨论草案放于联大A/C.1/51/7(1997年)号文件的有关安全和生存的章节中:对于一项核武器公约(1999年)案例。它分为四个部分。

1。反向核扩散:对于一项核武器公约案例。

这样一项条约会是什么样呢?该核武器示范公约包含了对国家执行措施和核查方面的详细规定。提议成立一个国际机构,承担强制执行和解决争端的责任;并指出汇报和处理暴力冲突的程序。可以参照已有的如禁止化学武器公约,生物武器公约和禁止地雷条约的整个武器类别的现行条约。

谁制定核武器条约 ?

各国政府将扮演主要的角色,而社会团体和组织也将发挥重要作用。许多国际和政府间机构的经验将是有益的,包括联合国大会和安全理事会,原子能机构,裁军谈判会议,无核武器区的执行机构;全面禁止核试验条约组织,在国际法院和欧盟等区域组织。科学,医学,法律,政策,以及其他非政府组织的专业知识使他们在这个过程中成为关键伙伴。

签署核武器条约何时会实现?

一旦政府态度发生转变,一个核武器条约的签署将会很快实现。例如缔结于1963年7月的部分禁止核试验条约,禁止在地面核试验爆炸条约,就是在多年僵局之后,短短10天的谈判就确定了。

为什么选择该方法来实现核裁军呢?

这条路线将使拥有核武器的国家在核不扩散条约下履行法律义务,并弥补核不扩散和综合框架下核裁军之间的鸿沟。它得到了全球范围内的支持,并且有成功的先例。零碎,分散,不一致的做法已宣告失败。突破目前的僵持状态销毁核武器是必要的及日益迫切的。

如何能够实现?

有三种可能实现核裁军的方法

  1. 按部就班的方法;
  2. 在有时限的框架下,对彻底消除核武器的全面谈判
  3. 结合各要素与前两个的中间路线。

核武器公约将在什么情况下适合这些方法呢?

它符合所有三种方法,因为它提供了全面消除核武器的方案,解决安全问题,核查的技术挑战,以及法律机制。

归结到此,实现核武器公约已经不是一个法律或技术可行性的问题,而是政治意愿。

2。核武器示范公约的总结

普通义务

核武器示范公约禁止发展、试验、生产、储存、转让、使用和威胁使用核武器。根据一系列的阶段,拥有核武器的国家将必须销毁其核武库(见下文)。该公约还禁止生产可用于制造核武器的核裂变材料,并要求销毁核弹头运载工具或改装使其无法携带核武器。

声明

缔约国基于公约将被要求必须申报所拥有或控制的核武器、核材料、核设施和核武器运载工具。

分阶段消减

该协定概述了消除核武器的一系列五个阶段:

  • 解除核武器的警戒状态
  • 拆除已部署的核武器
  • 从运载工具上拆除核弹头
  • 拆除和销毁引爆装置使核弹头失效
  • 将核裂变材料置于国际监管之下。

在最初阶段,美国和俄罗斯,这两个拥有世界上95%核武器的国家,被要求以最大程度削减核军火库。

证实

证实将包括发射状态的声明和报告、定期检查、突击(惊奇)检查、本地传感器、卫星成像、放射性核素采样和与其他遥感器、组织间信息共享和人文报告。 对举报有关国家的违反核武器协定行为的人(告密者),按照协定,我们将提供保护,包括避难权。

在核武器协定的框架下,将建立一个国际监控系统用于收集信息,并通过注册使信息得以使用。 而涉及可能危害商业秘密或国家安全的信息仍保持为机密。

国家执行办法

要求缔约国采取必要的立法措施,以履行公约规定的义务。根据公约的内容,将起诉触犯协定的行为,但对能够举报违反公约规定的行为的人,将依据公约给予保护。

各国还需要建立一个国家机构承担执行国家任务的责任。该公约将赋予个人、法人实体以及国家同等的权利和义务。个人有责任报告触犯公约的行为,同时也有权利得到保护。并对触犯条约规定的行为或个人将实施逮捕及提供公平的审判程序。

家任务的责任

该公约将赋予个人、法人实体以及国家同等的权利和义务。个人有责任报告触犯公约的行为,同时也有权利得到保护。并对触犯条约规定的行为或个人将实施逮捕及提供公平的审判程序。

机构

将建立一个机构执行该公约。它将负责核查,确保遵守和做出决策,并组织包括缔约国,执行理事会和技术秘书处在内的国际会议。与国际原子能机构不同的是核武器协定执行机构没有促进核能的任务。其主要目标包括控制和监督所有可能有助于研制生产和维持核武器的核原料,核设备和设施。

核材料

该公约禁止任何核裂变或聚变材料被直接用于制造核武器,包括钚(除了在乏燃料)和高浓缩铀的生产。而低浓缩铀将被允许用于核能的目的。

合作,遵守和解决争端

公约涵盖了磋商,合作与调查等部分,根据其相关规定和其他方面,用以澄清和解决争端。一个法律纠纷经缔约国双方同意可能提交至国际法院。该机构还有权从国际法院获得针对法律纠纷的咨询意见。

该公约规定了一系列针对违反规定的分阶段应变措施。首先通过澄清、磋商和谈判,如果需要,可以进行制裁或诉诸联合国大会和/或安全理事会采取行动。与其它国际协定相比,核武器示范公约不会破坏现有的核不扩散和裁军制度,以及核查和遵守公约的安排。

它是对不扩散条约的补充、加强和巩固。国际原子能机构的保障措施,全面禁止核试验条约组织的国际监测系统,以及俄罗斯与美国的双边协定。在某些情况下,核武器协定会增加职能和制度和安排等活动。在其他情况下,核武器条约将采取额外辅助性措施。

财务

核武器国家有责任支付其销毁核武库的费用。然而,国际基金会将设立,以协助有关国家可能在履行义务时遇到的财政困难。

有关能源援助的可供选择的议案。

该公约并没有禁止和平利用核能。它包括一个议定书,将促进能源可持续战略,建立相关的技术项目和经济援助计划,用于帮助那些选择放弃发展核能或逐步取消现有核能计划的国家 。

3。评论和关键问题

本节讨论有关执法,安全,突破,威慑,恐怖主义,健康和环境,解除警戒,清理,处置和安全的裁军,核能源,可逆性,转换,研究,和经济方面的问题。

4. 证明

本节将讨论核查的原则和要求,核查的政治机制,核武器协定核查的方式和步骤、基本要素、安全环境和其面临的挑战。

书后针对核武器示范公约的评注和修订反映了政府和非政府组织对1997年和1999年示范条约版本的看法。

为什么现在提倡核武器条约?

在2006年12月联合国大会上,125 个政府-包括拥有核武器的中国,印度和巴基斯坦-呼吁各国通过发展多边谈判早日缔结一项核武器公约,并立即履行各自的核裁军义务。包括生产,试验,部署,储存,转让,威胁或使用核武器,并规定予以销毁。不但大多数国家渴望一个核武器公约,民意调查显示,大部分公民,包括那些生活在有核国家的人们,也共同希望一个无核武器的未来。

政治意愿在哪里?

目前强大的政治,军方,官僚,技术专家和经济力量影响着那些有核国家的领导人。 只有结合那些赞同无核武器的民间组织和政府的力量才可能说服他们放弃核武器。

核武器协定可以在多方面发挥作用,探索众多正在升温的热点问题,有核国家已经开始考虑改变他们的安全战略,尽管这些政策已经维持数十年,但却一直威胁着全世界的生存环境,而且还伴随许多罕见的、长期的危害。

签订核武器协定也提供一条出路来缓和或扭转核武器科学家,工程师和相关组织反对核裁军的状况。 如要销毁核武器、验证无核武器政策及使用和生产分裂性材料的安全措施,那么必然需要重要科学工程专家和相关组织的介入。

我们迫切需要相应的政治意愿和远见卓识的领导者,在这一重大时刻,坦诚面对我们共同的未来。

核武器示范公约欢迎更多的国家、学者、科学家、民间团体的负责人和非政府组织(NGOS)共同参与。一些拥有核武器的国家提议,研究包括对核查和特殊核燃料链式反应元件新的限制。而这些都体现在核武器示范公约之中 。

联合国前秘书长安南指出,那些主张首先防止核扩散的国家与那些主张首先进行核裁军的国家间的分歧正日益扩大。这为及时重新提出签署核武器协定创造了条件,因为它提出了一个涵盖了核不扩散和核裁军措施的完整全面的框架。

核武器示范公约的起草者希望,通过证实核裁军的可行性和展示走出目前僵局的一条现实路径,使政府能得到启发,进而开始采取艰难而必要的行动,最终通过核裁军谈判达成一致结论。否则,世界将随时面临无法想象的灭顶灾难。为此我们将通过民主的意愿,建立一个更加合作、可持续和安全的世界,来确保人类的生存。

在Bill Williams(国际废除核武器运动组织,澳大利亚)和John Loretz (国际防止核战争医生组织)的帮助下,Gill Reeve (Medact,英国)为国际废除核武器运动组织起草了这一总结。

Nuclear Darkness
language

An SOS for the Human Race

Securing Our Survival (SOS)
The Case for a Nuclear Weapons Convention

Nuclear weapons have given humanity the power to destroy itself and severely degrade the Earth's capacity to support life within the space of a few hours. Human survival in the 21st century cannot be assured without the elimination of these ultimate weapons of terror, especially because access to nuclear weapons is becoming easier all the time.

Why? There are many reasons that the danger of the use of nuclear weapons by someone, somewhere, some time is growing ever closer:

  • increased access to knowledge of how to construct a bomb;
  • increasing availability of the materials with which to make a bomb;
  • increasing numbers of people desperate enough to use the bomb;
  • lack of inventories and inadequate security of fissile (nuclear explosive) materials;
  • lack of international resolve to ban the bomb and banish it from the arsenals of the world;
  • complete lack of progress on and, indeed, reversals of hard-won nuclear disarmament gains;
  • increased threats to use nuclear weapons, including pre-emptively, against non-nuclear threats and named countries;
  • ineffectiveness of safeguards and other measures to prevent uranium enrichment and the reprocessing of spent reactor fuel to extract plutonium, both of which fuel nuclear proliferation.

At the 1995 Review and Extension Conference, Parties to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty agreed under Article VI “to pursue systematic and progressive efforts to reduce nuclear weapons globally, with the ultimate goal of eliminating those weapons.”

The bomb is condemned by more than a dozen basic principles of international law. Crucially, in July 1996 the International Court of Justice in its Advisory Opinion on the Legality of the Threat or Use of Nuclear Weapons unanimously held that “there exists an obligation to pursue in good faith and bring to a conclusion negotiations leading to nuclear disarmament in all its aspects under strict and effective international control."

Elimination Is Achievable: What the ModelNuclear Weapons Convention Offers

Securing Our Survival presents a Nuclear Weapons Convention (NWC), a draft model internationaltreaty—or package of agreements—for the phased elimination of nuclear weapons worldwide. The NWC cuts through the widely held perception that nuclear disarmament is an impossible dream. It offers a vision of what a nuclear-weapons-free world might look like and describes how nuclear disarmament could actually take place, showing the steps that could practically lead to nuclear weapons being safely eliminated by all parties.

The model Nuclear Weapons Convention (NWC) outlined in this book was revised and updated in 2007, based on the model NWC submitted by Costa Rica to the United Nations Secretary-General as a discussion draft A/C.1/51/7 (1997) and contained in Security and Survival: The Case for a Nuclear Weapons Convention (1999). It is divided into four sections.

1. Reversing Proliferation: The Case for a Nuclear Weapons Convention

What might such a treaty look like? The model NWC contains detailed provisions for national implementation and verification; establishes an international agency responsible for enforcement and dispute settlement; and indicates procedures for reporting and addressing violations. Comparison is made with the existing treaties banning entire categories of weapons such as the Chemical Weapons Convention, the Biological Weapons Convention and the Mine Ban Treaty.

Who makes an NWC?

Governments are the principal actors but civil society plays an important role. The experience of many international and intergovernmental bodies will be useful, including the UN General Assembly and Security Council; the IAEA; the Conference on Disarmament; nuclear-weapon-free zone implementation agencies; the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization; the International Court of Justice; and regional organizations such as the EU. The scientific, medical, legal, policy, and other expertise of NGOs make them key partners in the process.

When will an NWC be possible?

Once government attitudes change, an NWC could be achieved very quickly. The Partial Test Ban Treaty banning nuclear test explosions above ground, for example, was concluded in just 10 days of determined negotiation in July 1963 after years of deadlock.

Why choose this method of achieving nuclear disarmament?

This route will enable nuclear weapons states to fulfil their legal obligations under the NPT and to bridge the divide between non-proliferation and disarmament in a comprehensive framework that addresses both. It has global support and there are successful precedents. Piecemeal, fragmented, and inconsistent approaches have failed. Breaking through the current paralysis and abolishing nuclear weapons is both necessary and increasingly urgent.

How it could be achieved?

There are three possible approaches to achieving nuclear disarmament:

  1. a step-by-step approach;
  2. comprehensive negotiations on the complete elimination of nuclear weapons under a time-bound framework;
  3. a middle path between the first two, combining elements of each.

Where does the NWC fit in these approaches?

It fits into all three, as it offers a comprehensive package for the complete elimination of nuclear weapons, addressing security concerns, technical challenges in verification, and legal mechanisms.

When it boils down to it, achieving an NWC is a matter not of legal or technical feasibility, but of political will.

2. Summary of Model Nuclear Weapons Convention

General obligations

The Model NWC prohibits development, testing, production, stockpiling, transfer, use and threat of use of nuclear weapons. States possessing nuclear weapons will be required to destroy their arsenals according to a series of phases (see below). The Convention also prohibits the production of weapons-usable fissile material and requires delivery vehicles to be destroyed or converted to make them incapable of use with nuclear weapons.

Declarations

States parties to the Convention will be required to declare all nuclear weapons, nuclear material, nuclear facilities and nuclear weapons delivery vehicles they possess or control, and the locations of these.

Phases for elimination

The Convention outlines a series of five phases for the elimination of nuclear weapons:

  • taking nuclear weapons off alert,
  • removing weapons from deployment,
  • removing nuclear warheads from their delivery vehicles,
  • disabling the warheads, removing and disfiguring the “pits”, and
  • placing the fissile material under international control.

In the initial phases the US and Russia, which possess 95% of the world's nuclear weapons, are required to make the deepest cuts in their nuclear arsenals.

Verification

Verification will include declarations and reports from States, routine inspections, challenge (surprise) inspections, on-site sensors, satellite photography, radionuclide sampling and other remote sensors, information sharing with other organizations, and citizen reporting. Persons reporting suspected violations of the Convention (whistle-blowers) will be provided protection through the Convention, including the right of asylum.

An International Monitoring System will be established under the Convention to gather information, and will make most of this information available through a registry. Information which may jeopardize commercial secrets or national security will be kept confidential.

National implementation measures

States Parties are required to adopt necessary legislative measures to implement their obligations under the Convention to provide for prosecution of persons committing crimes under the Convention and protection for persons reporting violations of the Convention.

States are also required to establish a national authority to be responsible for national tasks in implementation.

Rights and obligations of persons

The Convention applies rights and obligations to individuals and legal entities as well as States. Individuals have an obligation to report violations of the Convention and the right to protection if they do so. Procedures for the apprehension and fair trial of individuals accused of committing crimes under the treaty are provided.

Agency

An agency would be established to implement the Convention. It will be responsible for verification, ensuring compliance, and decision making, and will comprise a Conference of States Parties, an Executive Council and a Technical Secretariat. The NWC Agency, unlike the IAEA, would not have the task of promoting nuclear energy. Its primary objectives include containment and surveillance of all materials, equipment and facilities that could contribute to the development, production, or maintenance of nuclear weapons.

Nuclear material

The Convention prohibits the production of any fissionable or fusionable material which can be used directly to make a nuclear weapon, including plutonium (other than that in spent fuel) and highly enriched uranium. Low-enriched uranium would be permitted for nuclear energy purposes.

Cooperation, compliance and dispute settlement

Provisions are included for consultation, cooperation and fact finding to clarify and resolve questions of interpretation with respect to compliance and other matters. A legal dispute may be referred to the International Court of Justice by mutual consent of States Parties. The Agency is also empowered to request an advisory opinion from the ICJ on a legal dispute.

The Convention provides for a series of graduated responses for non-compliance, beginning with consultation and clarification, negotiation, and, if required, sanctions or recourse to the UN General Assembly and/or Security Council for action.

Relationship to other international agreements

The Model NWC does not undermine existing nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament regimes, and verification and compliance arrangements. It would complement, enhance and build on the Non- Proliferation Treaty, International Atomic Energy Agency safeguards, the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization International Monitoring System, and bilateral agreements between Russia and the United States. In some cases the NWC may add to the functions and activities of such regimes and arrangements. In other cases, the NWC would establish additional complementary arrangements.

Financing

Nuclear weapon states are obliged to cover the costs of the elimination of their nuclear arsenals. However, an international fund will be established to assist states that may have financial difficulties in meeting their obligations.

Optional Protocol concerning energy assistance

The Convention does not prohibit the use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. It includes an optional protocol, however, which would promote sustainable energy resources and establish a program of technical and financial assistance for States Parties choosing not to develop nuclear energy or to phase out existing nuclear energy programs.

3. Comments and Critical Questions

This section addresses issues of enforcement, security, breakout, deterrence, terrorism, health and environment, dealerting, cleanup, disposition and safe disarmament, nuclear energy, reversibility, conversion, research, and economic aspects.

4. Verification

This section addresses principles and demands of verification, political mechanisms of verification, means and procedures for NWC verification, elements of NWC verification, security context and challenges of NWC verification.

The commentary and revisions to the model at the end of the book reflect governmental and nongovernmental responses to the 1997 and 1999 versions of the model treaty.

Why Call for an NWC Now?

In December 2006 at the UN General Assembly, 125 governments—including nuclear-armed China, India and Pakistan—called upon States to immediately fulfil their nuclear disarmament obligations “by commencing multilateral negotiations leading to an early conclusion of a Nuclear Weapons Convention prohibiting the development, production, testing, deployment, stockpiling, transfer, threat or use of nuclear weapons and providing for their elimination.” Not only do a majority of states want a Nuclear Weapons Convention, opinion polls demonstrate that a large majority of citizens—including those of nuclear weapon states—also overwhelmingly want a nuclear-weapon-free future.

Where is the Political Will?

Currently the leaders of the Nuclear Weapon States are influenced by strong political, military, bureaucratic, technocratic and commercial forces. Only the combined efforts of citizens and supportive non-nuclear governments are likely to persuade them to move.

The concept of an NWC can be an important tool in these efforts, exploring many concerns that are sure to arise as the NWS consider moving away from a security policy that they know and with which they have lived for decades, albeit very dangerously for the whole world, and with many uniquely hazardous and long-lasting consequences.

The NWC approach also provides a way to ease or reverse the opposition of nuclear weapons scientists, engineers, and corporations to nuclear disarmament. Considerable scientific and engineering expertise and corporate involvement will be necessary for the destruction of nuclear weapons, for the verification of the nuclear-weapon-free regime, and for the safeguarding of fissile materials and the means to produce them.

Political will and visionary leadership have never been more urgently needed on an issue of greater moment to our collective future on Earth.

The Model NWC was welcomed by many governments, academics, scientists, civil society leaders and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Initiatives by some nuclear weapons possessing states, including studies on verification and new restrictions on specific fuel chain elements, reflected ideas raised in the Model NWC.

Former UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan has noted the growing divide between those countries advocating non-proliferation first and those advocating disarmament first. This makes revisiting the proposal for an NWC timely as it addresses both non-proliferation and disarmament measures in a unified and comprehensive framework.

The drafters of the Model NWC hope that by demonstrating the feasibility of nuclear disarmament and a practical path out of the current impasse, governments will be inspired to take on the difficult but necessary and increasingly urgent task of commencing, and bringing to a conclusion, nuclear disarmament negotiations. Not to do so will condemn the world to a catastrophe unimaginable in scale. To do so will be enacting the will of the democratic majority, building a more cooperative, sustainable, and safe world, and indeed Securing our Survival.

This summary was prepared for ICAN by Gill Reeve (Medact, UK) with assistance from Bill Williams (ICAN Australia) and John Loretz (IPPNW)