核黑暗
language

局部核战争的气候和健康影响

2008年4月29日,瑞士日内瓦,在2010核不扩散条约审议大会筹备委员会的第二次会议期间,本文作为国际医师联盟发起的一个核战争预防的声明在大会上进行学术交流。

会议召集人
  • 约翰洛雷斯,核战争预防的国际医师组织成员
  • 爱热黑乐藩德,MD, IPPNW, 美国社会责任医师协会的会员
  • 史蒂文 斯塔尔,游说者,加拿大全球生存医师组织成员
  • 约翰哈勒姆,《核热点》杂志编辑
  • 报告人: 甘纳・外斯贝尔戈博士

核爆炸释放的烟尘将造成的灾难性的全球变冷,这就是核冬天的景象。而数以万计核武器的爆炸将导致维系地球上生命的生态系统崩溃。这一致命后果促使美苏认识到核战争中没有赢家,也根本不应该发生。

虽然这种危险现在似乎遥远,但并不表示它不会出现。自从在20世纪80年代核冬天的概念被首次提出后,美俄通过消减核武器协议已经销毁了全球核武库中三分之二的核武器。 但是,目前世界上仍有超过25,000枚核弹头,这也足够引发多次核冬天了。

直到最近,研究人员提出了一个未经核对的局部核战争的预测,它将导致令人难以接受的成千上万人的伤亡和史无前例的局部范围的破坏,但不会导致在全球性范围的生态效应。气候学家的最新研究证明那些假设是错误的。理由是虽然一次局部核战争将引爆核当量在100枚广岛原子弹威力的核武器-大约全球核武库的0.3%,但是也足以对全球气候产生可怕的持久影响。

在本报告中,我们将简要地总结美国科学家理查B. Turco, O.B. Toon,阿伦Robock研究小组的学术成果以及从防止核战争国际医师协会的研究获得的公共健康的信息。希望您能完整的阅读此项研究内容,同时我们也非常愿意为您提供相应的网站信息。

该项研究描述了在南亚大陆可能发生的地区性核战争的后果,假设引爆的核武器数目以当前估计的印度-巴基斯坦核武库的总和为参考。 研究中描述的情况仅作例证。除已经拥有核武器的九个国家之外, 全球还有32个国家拥有足够的用于制造核武器的可裂变核原料,形成几个其他的核战争危险地区,这些足够用于摧毁无核国家。在印度和巴基斯坦的人口和经济活动密集的大城市,很可能成为核冲突中的被攻击目标。对南亚可能爆发的一次核战争的测试结果显示,100枚一万五千吨核当量的核弹将在印度和巴基斯坦武库之间引爆,其结果可能会即时产生毁灭性的影响-2000万人的伤亡,这个数字相当于二次世界大战六年期间全世界伤亡的一半。 另外,大气层中烟尘,将对其中心城市的经济造成长期无法摆脱的严重后果。

这些地区性的影响固然可怕,但是如果同核冲突引发的全球气候变化的后果相比就相形见绌了。

多重核爆炸将在城市形成核火焰风暴,能释放一百到五百万吨的烟尘,将上升进入对流层,并且由于大气的加热效应,会继续上升到平流层。在地球周围形成的烟尘层将阻挡太阳光,导致温度显著降低和持续十几年的降水量减少。在爆炸后的10天内,平均地表温度将下降1.25摄氏度。在接下来的一年内,预计全球平均降雨量将减少10%,亚洲夏季季风也会大幅度减少。甚至10年后,地表平均温度仍会下降0.5摄氏度。 在数天时间内,全球的温度要比小冰川时期(发生在大约1400年到1850)还要低。

更遭的是,这样巨大的浓烟被释放进入平流层将造成地球周围臭氧层的大幅减少。在4月公布的美国国家科学院的一项研究显示,模拟引爆核当量高于广岛原子弹100倍的核武器引发的核战争场景,发现全球超出20%的臭氧损失,具体为中纬度损失25-45%和北部高纬度地区损失50-70%,并持续5年的时间,而由此产生的巨大损失将再持续至少五年。 紫外线辐射的增加将对人类健康造成严重的后果。

经研究可预测出这种突如其来的气候变化,将对农业生产的造成巨大的影响。在全球最重要的粮食生产地区农作物的生长季节将缩短10到20天,这可能会使农作物因为没有足够的生长时间到达成熟阶段而死亡。由于放射性核污染的影响,大量食物可能需要销毁,同时大面积的耕地将无法继续种植农作物。

目前世界上有超过八亿人处于长期营养不良的状态,同时在其他一些国家还有几亿人依靠粮食进口才能维系生活。即使是农作物产量的轻度突然下降,也可能会在全球范围内触发粮食价格的大幅上涨,引起囤积粮食的现象,这些都将使世界上大部分穷人无法得到食物。同时也不可能精确的估计出由局部核战争导致的全球饥荒数,恐怕全球仅死于饥饿的人数就要达到10亿,这似乎是很合理的推断。这种大规模的饥荒也会导致重大传染病疫情的传播,并且也会为战争和国内冲突创造巨大的可能。

去年的8月中旬,全球粮食库存为大约三亿两千二百万吨,年消耗量为二十亿九千八百万吨。 这意味着消耗世界粮食库存仅需大约49 天(请检查下,可能大约55天更准确?) ,低于过去50年期间的任何一个点,并且显著低于在20世纪80年代和90年代100到120天的消费量.

在全球粮食产量骤减的情形下,目前的粮食储备并不会提供太大的保障。在此背景下,全球粮食价格将如预期出现显著的上涨。价格的大幅上涨会给那些大部分粮食需要依赖进口的国家带来沉重的负担,并且使数百万人无力承担上涨的粮食价格,即使是目前的粮食价格,仍然有数亿的穷人买不起食物,而这些人已经处于长期的营养不良状态了。 另外我们可能会看见全球范围内囤积粮食的现象。在地区性核战争的情形下,粮食出口国将面临主要农作物的减产,并且在未来几年间收成前景堪忧。这会促使他们可能拒绝出口任何谷物无论谷物是否有节余,目的是将其作为国内储备。

当然我们无法准确估计伴随地区性核战争的全球饥荒的全部范围。 但这样的推断似乎是合理的:目前8亿处于长期营养不良状态的人口,如果将现有的低标准摄入量再减低全年的10%,那么很少有人可以存活。 如果农作物欠收及其造成的食品短缺局面持续几年,那么他们的命运也将随之终结。

另外两个问题也需要加以考虑。 首先,发展中国家的众多大城市,人口拥挤、经常缺乏相对较好的卫生条件,几乎肯定会出现各种传染性疾病的大规模爆发; 如近些年来已经不再大规模流行的瘟疫,也许会再次成为主要的健康威胁。

其次,战争和国家间的冲突具有巨大的潜在威胁,将会导致大范围的饥荒。在各个国家内部饥荒范围逐渐扩大,由此会引发大规模的骚乱,并且由于对有限食物资源的竞争说不定会加剧民族和地区的仇恨。而那些严重依赖粮食进口的国家会采取任何手段以企图维持稳定的粮食供应,其结果将导致各国间的武力冲突。

同样也无法估测这次“有限的”地区性核战争到底会引起多少额外的伤亡和多么严重的全球范围的气候变化,而这将进一步使数亿人失去生命。

我们需要澄清和完善这些研究成果,用以争取对核武器在全球范围的危害做出基本评估,同时应该展开研讨并提出关于不扩散核武器条约审查周期的建议。因为即使一次小规模核战争都可能触发一次全球性浩劫,而唯一有效可行的对策就是完全销毁核武器。

1Toon, Owen B.,Richard P.Turco, Alan Robock, Charles Bardeen, Luke Oman, 和Geogiy L. Stenchikov, 2007年:区域性核冲突和单一核恐怖活动导致的气候和人文危害。Atm. Chem. Phys 第七卷,1973-2002页
2Robock, Alan, Luke Oman, Georgiy L. Stenchikov, Owen B. Toon, Charles Bardeen, and Richard P. Turco, 2007年:区域性核冲突导致的气候危害。Atm. Chem. Phys 第七卷,2003-2012页
3Helfand, I对小范围区域性核战争引发的全球范围核饥荒程度的评估。英国皇家药学会于2007年10月3日。

Nuclear Darkness
language

Climate and Health Effects of Regional Nuclear War

This paper was presented as a statement from the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, during the second session of the Preparatory Committee of the 2010 nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference, in Geneva, Switzerland, on April 29, 2008.

Convenors
  • John Loretz, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
  • Ira Helfand, MD, IPPNW, Physicians for Social Responsibility-USA
  • Steven Starr, Lobbyist, Physicians for Global Survival-Canada
  • John Hallam, Editor Nuclear Flashpoints
  • Speaker: Dr. Gunnar Westberg, IPPNW

The prospect of a nuclear winter—a catastrophic global cooling caused by the release of smoke and soot from the explosion of thousands of nuclear weapons and resulting in the collapse of the Earth’s life supporting ecosystems—contributed greatly to the realization by the US and the former Soviet Union that a nuclear war could not be won and must not be fought.

While that danger now seems remote, it has not disappeared. US-Russian arms accords have reduced by two-thirds the total number of nuclear weapons in the world’s arsenals since nuclear winter was first described in the 1980s. Nonetheless, there are still more than 25,000 nuclear weapons in the world, enough to precipitate nuclear winter several times over.

Until recently, however, there was an unexamined assumption that a smaller, regional nuclear war, while it would cause unacceptable millions of casualties and unprecedented local devastation, would not produce ecological effects at the global level. Those assumptions have been proven false in new research studies conducted by climate scientists who have concluded that a nuclear war involving no more than 100 Hiroshima-sized nuclear weapons—about 0.3% of the global nuclear arsenal—could have terrifying, long-lasting effects on the global climate.

In this presentation, we will summarize very briefly the findings of US scientists Richard B. Turco, O. B. Toon, Alan Robock, and their colleagues1,2 3 as well as public health implications derived from their research by International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War. We urge you to read the full studies, and we would be happy to refer you to online sites where you can obtain them.

The studies looked at the consequences of a possible regional nuclear war in South Asia, using numbers of weapons currently estimated to exist in the combined arsenals of India and Pakistan. This scenario is only exemplary. In addition to the nine countries that already possess nuclear weapons, 32 own sufficient fissionable nuclear materials to construct them, placing several other regions of the world at risk of nuclear war on the scale described here should the non¬proliferation regime unravel. Population and economic activity in India and Pakistan are congregated in megacities, which probably would be targeted in a nuclear conflict. An examination of the likely outcome of a nuclear exchange in South Asia involving the 100 15-kt weapons available in the combined Indian and Pakistani arsenals shows that such an exchange could have devastating immediate effects, killing 20 million people, a number equal to half of all those killed worldwide during the six years of World War II. In addition, there would be tremendous economic consequences with the megacities exposed to atmospheric fallout likely abandoned indefinitely.

As horrible as these regional effects would be, however, they might well be dwarfed by the global climate consequences of this conflict.

Smoke and soot from urban firestorms caused by the multiple nuclear explosions—1-5 million metric tons—would rise into the upper troposphere and, due to atmospheric heating, would subsequently be boosted deep into the stratosphere. The resulting soot cloud would block the sun leading to significant cooling and reductions in precipitation lasting for over a decade. Within 10 days following the explosions, there would be a drop in average surface temperature of 1.25° C. Over the following year, a 10% decline in average global rainfall and a large reduction in the Asian summer monsoon is predicted. Even 10 years out, there would be a persistent 0.5° C average surface cooling. In a matter of days, temperatures around the Earth would become colder than those experienced during the pre-industrial Little Ice Age (which occurred from approximately 1400 to 1850).

To make matters even worse, such amounts of smoke injected into the stratosphere would cause a huge reduction in the Earth's protective ozone. A study published in April by the National Academy of Sciences, using a similar nuclear war scenario involving 100 Hiroshima-size bombs, shows ozone losses in excess of 20% globally, 25-45% at midlatitudes, and 50-70% at northern high latitudes persisting for 5 years, with substantial losses continuing for 5 additional years. The resulting increases in UV radiation would have serious consequences for human health.

The sudden climate changes predicted by these studies would have a significant impact on agricultural production. The growing season would be shortened by 10 to 20 days in many of the most important grain producing areas in the world which might completely eliminate crops that have insufficient time to reach maturity. Large quantities of food might also need to be destroyed and significant areas of crop land might need to be taken out of production because of radioactive contamination.

There are currently more than 800 million people in the world who are chronically malnourished and several hundred million more live in countries which are dependent on imported grain. Even a modest, sudden decline in agricultural production could trigger significant increases in the prices for basic foods and hoarding on a global scale, both of which would make food inaccessible to poor people in much of the world. While it is not possible to estimate the precise extent of the global famine that would follow a regional nuclear war, it seems reasonable to fear a total global death toll in the range of one billion from starvation alone. Famine on this scale would also lead to major epidemics of infectious diseases, and would create immense potential for war and civil conflict.

As of mid-August of last year, global grain stocks were approximately 322 million tons with annual consumption at 2,098 million tons. Expressed as days of consumption world grain stocks are therefore approximately 55 days, lower than at any point in the last 50 years, and dramatically lower than the 100 to 120 days of consumption available in the 1980's and 1990's.

These stocks would not provide any significant reserve in the event of a sharp decline in global production. In this setting we would expect to see much greater rises in grain prices worldwide. These price increases would put a crippling burden on whole countries which import large portions of their food supply and would make food unaffordable for hundreds of millions of individuals who are already malnourished precisely because of their inability to afford adequate food even at current world prices. In addition we would probably see hoarding on a global scale. In the event of a regional nuclear war, the grain exporting states would be faced with major crop losses and the prospect of bad harvests for the next several years. It is probable that they would refuse to export whatever grain surplus they might have, retaining it instead as a domestic reserve.

It is, of course, impossible to estimate with accuracy the full extent of the global famine that would follow a regional nuclear war. But it seems reasonable to conclude that few of the 800 million people who are already malnourished would survive if their already substandard intake decreased by even 10% for a whole year. If the crop failures and resulting food shortages persisted for several years their fate would be sealed.

Two other issues need to be considered as well. First, the vast megacities of the developing world, crowded, and often lacking adequate sanitation in the best of times, would almost certainly see major outbreaks of infectious diseases; and illnesses such as plague, which have not been prevalent in recent years, might again become major health threats.

Second, an immense potential for war and civil conflict would be created by famine on this scale. Within nations where famine is widespread, there would almost certainly be food riots, and competition for limited food resources might well exacerbate ethnic and regional animosities. Among nations, armed conflict seems highly likely as states dependent on imports adopt whatever means are at their disposal in an attempt to maintain access to food supplies.

It is likewise impossible to estimate the additional global death toll from disease and further warfare that this “limited” regional nuclear war might cause but, given the worldwide scope of the climate effects, the dead from these causes might well number in the hundreds of millions.

These findings, while they need to be elucidated and refined, argue for a fundamental reassessment of the role of nuclear weapons in the world, and should inform the deliberations and proposals of this NPT Review cycle. If even a small nuclear war could trigger a global catastrophe, the only viable response is the complete abolition of nuclear weapons.

1 Toon, Owen B., Richard P. Turco, Alan Robock, Charles Bardeen, Luke Oman, and Georgiy L. Stenchikov, 2007: Atmospheric effects and societal consequences of regional scale nuclear conflicts and acts of individual nuclear terrorism. Atm. Chem. Phys., 7, 1973-2002.
2 Robock, Alan, Luke Oman, Georgiy L. Stenchikov, Owen B. Toon, Charles Bardeen, and Richard P. Turco, 2007: Climatic consequences of regional nuclear conflicts. Atm. Chem. Phys., 7, 2003-2012.
3 Helfand, I An assessment of the extent of projected global famine resulting from limited ,regional nuclear war, Royal Society of Medicine, October 3, 2007.