核黑暗
language

核战争引发的灾难性气候变化的文章

对人类生存的威胁

斯蒂文斯塔尔, 密苏里大学医疗服务代表

摘要

即使在大城市引爆处于发射状态核武库中的很小一部分核武器,也会产生足以引起全球气候灾难性变化及大[1]气臭氧保护层耗竭的烟尘[2]而数万枚核弹爆炸产生的环境灾难,将迅速摧毁地球上的人居条件。[3]

核战争引发的灾难性气候变化和大范围臭氧层的耗竭

如果在城市和工业区引爆核弹,将会产生巨大的火灾。一切可见物体都开始燃烧,随后产生上百万吨的浓厚黑烟。这些黑烟迅速地上升至云层,进入平流层,在那里阻挡照射到地球表面的温暖阳光。太阳光将使大气层的上部显著升温,进而引起臭氧保护层的大量耗竭。随后,核黑暗将使地球表面的温度急剧下降至冰河时期的水平。

核战争导致的核黑暗和全球变冷(伴随大量的放射活性尘、发热源、及臭氧层的耗竭)的情景于1983年被首次定义为“核冬天”。[4] 最初的研究推测,核火焰风暴产生的烟尘会在平流层停留一年。2006年,研究人员通过现代化先进的计算机模型证明这种全球范围的大气烟尘层可维持十年。[5]

与二十世纪八十年代的推测相比,由于烟尘层的实际停留时间会更长,那么即使相对少量的烟尘也可对全球气候和大气臭氧层产生巨大的冲击,后者可以阻挡紫外线辐射。科学家们推测,即使是一个地区性的核冲突也可产生足够的烟尘,进而引起全球平均地表温度的显著降低、降雨量的减少、及到达地球表面紫外线辐射的明显增加。

换言之,在诸如印度和巴基斯坦间的核战争中,产生的大量烟尘将使蓝天变成灰暗。虽然由这种规模的烟尘造成阻断阳光的程度,不会进一步造成地球的黑暗,或是核冬天(伴随数千枚战略核武器爆炸的核战争),但是这样的地区性核战争仍能通过其对农业生产方面的负面效应,而对人类造成灾难性的影响。[6]

由相当于广岛原子弹爆炸威力(一万五千吨)的低当量核武器引发的核战争

2006年,美国的研究人员采用美国国家航空航天局计算机模型(1E型,该模型也被用于预测全球变暖气候变化的政府间分组会议)评估可能发生在亚热带地区的局部核战争产生的影响。[7]相当于50倍广岛原子弹核当量(每枚相当于一万五千吨的爆炸当量)的核武器在每个参战国家的最大城市中引爆(总量100枚核弹爆炸)。

研究推测,核爆炸将在战区夺走两千万人的生命,相当于第二次世界大战死亡总人数的一半。核冲突还将明显破坏全球的气候环境。从燃烧的城市中产生的五百万吨烟尘将迅速上升到平流层中,并在两周内形成覆盖全球的烟尘罩,且可维持十多年的时间。 [8]

经计算机模型推算,平流层的烟尘罩将阻挡7-10% 到达地球表面的温暖阳光。 烟尘层下方的温度将比过去1000年间的最低气温还要低。农作物生长的季节缩短30天,很多地区平均降雨量显著减少,在亚洲季风区降雨量可能会降低40%。[9]

如此迅速、剧烈的气候变化将对已经处于过去五十年间最低水平的全球粮食储备造成严重的冲击。 9全球小麦主要出口国(如:加拿大)的小麦种植专家们可能会停工几年。[10]目前处于饥饿边缘的七亿贫民,同那些严重依赖小麦进口的国家的人民一起将随着粮食储备的耗竭而面临大范围的饥荒,随之将出现粮食价格暴涨和囤积的现象。预测这种情况的最终结果将是全球范围的核饥荒。在核冲突引发灾难性气候变化后的第二年,将会有超过10亿人死亡。[11]

大气臭氧层的破坏和有害紫外线辐射的增加

位于平流层内的烟尘罩将会严重破坏臭氧保护层。2008年的研究预测,地区性核冲突产生的烟尘(如上所述)将使臭氧损失25%.[12]

印度和巴基斯坦之间的地区性核战争

在城市中引爆相当于100倍广岛原子弹爆炸威力的核武器

第二天:烟尘进入平流层
第八天:覆盖全球的烟尘层形成
第六十四天:10%的太阳光被阻挡

在印度和巴基斯坦中心城市引爆100枚核弹,将产生巨大的核火焰风暴。五百万吨的烟尘升入云层,在平流层中形成覆盖全球的烟尘罩,并持续十年之久。浓厚的烟尘层将阻挡10%到达地球表面的阳光。

由于失去温暖阳光的照射,地球表面的温度将下降至过往1000年中最寒冷的程度。持续的寒冷将使该地区的平均降雨量下降40%至50%。阳光将加热平流层中的烟尘;炙热的烟尘将在中纬度地区破坏25%至45%的臭氧保护层;而在偏北纬度地区将破坏50%至70%的臭氧层,随后大量的有害紫外线辐射将直接到达海洋和陆地的生态系统。

平均地表温度的降低、降雨量和阳光照射的减少、及平流层臭氧的耗竭,诸多因素交织在一起,将持续多年的显著缩短农作物的生长季节和粮食产量。大约十年后,环境将逐渐恢复到最初的水平。考虑到目前粮食的储备只能维持30到50天,加之全球气候的迅猛改变会使情况持续恶化,那么最终将出现严重的食物短缺。类似冰川时期的气候条件将迅速终止北美和欧亚大陆的粮食出口,而那些目前已经处于饥饿边缘的人们和严重依赖粮食进口的国家将出现饥荒。据统计,大约10亿人将伴随着地区性核冲突而死于饥饿。

致谢

文中有关烟尘的图片由罗格斯大学Luke Oman博士制作,现经其授权在此转载。

文中关于地区性核冲突导致的致命性气候变化的数据引自Robock A., Oman L., Stenchikov G., Toon O. B., Bardeen C., 和Turco R. 地区性核冲突导致的气候变. 大气化学物理 2007年,第七卷,2003-2012页。

文中关于臭氧损耗的数据引自Mills M, Toon O, Turco R, Kinnison D, Garcia R.预测伴随地区性核战争的大范围.全球臭氧耗竭.美国国家药理学通报 2008年,第105卷(14),5307-5312页。

文中关于核饥荒的数据引自I. Helfand.有限区域性核战争导致全球饥荒程度的评估. 2007年,国际防止核战争医生组织,社会责任医师协会(马萨诸塞州利兹)。

全球的大气臭氧层将下降至类似目前南极洲上空臭氧空洞的程度。中纬度地区紫外线辐射指数将上升42-108%,其结果将使皮肤白皙的人在不到7分钟的时间内被烧伤。在高纬度偏北地区,紫外线辐射指数将上升130-290%,将使烧伤时间由现在的32-43分钟缩短至8-19分钟。[13]

显著增加的紫外线- B波段辐射将对海洋和陆地生态系统造成负面影响, 但是目前缺乏这方面的相关研究。同样,应用现代气候模型对高当量战略核武器引发的大规模核冲突导致臭氧损耗评估的研究,目前尚无报道。

高当量战略核武器引发的核战争[14]

美国和俄罗斯核武库中处于发射状态的高当量战略核武器的爆炸威力将超过地区性核战争引爆的低当量核弹威力至少500倍。大部分战略核武器目前都处于高警戒状态(在2009年,美国和俄罗斯保留着超过2000枚高警戒状态核弹头)。[15] 事实上, 两国的陆基弹道导弹都可以在30秒到3分钟内发射, 这也确切的证明两国一直奉行预警即发射政策[16]

2008年的研究推测,在大都市引爆4400枚战略核弹将导致七亿七千万人迅速死亡,并释放一亿八千万吨浓厚黑烟。 [17]核爆炸发生十天后,烟尘将形成浓密的、 覆盖全球的平流层烟尘罩,随之将阻挡70%到达北半球的阳光和35%到达南半球的阳光。[18]

稍后的核黑暗将使北半球大部分地区温度迅速降低≥20摄氏度(36华氏),在欧亚大陆的许多地方温度将下降30摄氏度(54华氏)(图2).在北半球的最大的农作物产区,日间最低气温将下降至冰点,并持续1至3年。全球平均地表温度将下降至一万八千年前距今最近的冰川时期的水平。[19]

全球地表温度的骤然下降将减弱全球的水文循环,  同时温度的改变将使北半球夏季季风循环停止。结果, 全球降雨量将会减少45%。 [20] 

灾难性的气候变化和臭氧耗竭将持续十年缩减农作物的生长季节。在核战争爆发的中心地区将会维持数十年,甚至几个世纪。 [21] 在如此情况下,整个人类和大部分的动物种群可能将死于饥饿。.[22]

2:当一亿五千万吨的黑烟在平流层形成笼罩全球的烟尘层后第二年的六月、七月、八月的地表温度平均变化(摄氏度)。[23]

对比全球变暖和核战争导致的全球变冷

http://www.nucleardarkness.org/include/nucleardarkness/images/en/graph/global_warming_1000year_full.jpg

 

3对比北半球在过去1000年间平均地表温度的变化与一定规模核冲突引起的可预测的温度降低。

[24]

结论

本文中总结的科研成果清楚地表明,由地区性核冲突导致的气候变化将使数亿远离战争区域的人们失去生命。而由美国和俄罗斯战略核武库引发的核战争将会威胁到人类物种的持续生存。

然而无论是美国、俄罗斯,还是其他有核国家都未曾官方评估过核战争对全球的气候和生态系统的影响。 25  的确是时候公开的采取行动并接受公众的讨论了。 有核国家应根据其本身的核武库爆炸威力做出环境评估报告。

在对“是否需要一个无核世界”的激辩中,核战争导致的灾难性气候变化势必将成为最主要的议题。该讨论必然包含可能制造危险的全部有核国家,包括美国和俄罗斯。而对于战略核武器库可能造成的生物种群灭绝的潜在威胁的错误认识和描述,将从根本上改变迫在眉睫的核武器现状,并阻碍销毁核武器谈判的顺利进行

始终将核武器置于随时准备发射的状态,将为人类搭建一个维护良好的自我毁灭机制。有些政府或国家正试图使核武器的存在合法化。在全球范围近乎自杀的核战争中,将没有赢家。

因此,美国和俄罗斯必须意识到,在核战争准备、及“成功”进行首次核攻击等方面的无动于衷,最终将毁掉整个世界-包括自己国家-的生存环境。他们必须放弃首先使用核武器的策略,解除高度警戒状态的核武器(其可能通过预警即发射的政策轻易引发偶然性核战争),[25]并且拆除他们核武库中上万的核武器。 [26]

核武器无法为国家的安全提供足够的保障,因为核威慑的一个单一失误就可以毁灭整个人类文明。除非核威慑可以永远毫无差错的运行,否则最终核武器仍将被用于冲突之中。我们必须在核武器毁灭我们之前将其彻底销毁。

About the Author:  Steven Starr is a Senior Scientist with Physicians for Social Responsibility, and Director of the Clinical Laboratory Science Program at the University of Missouri. He has been published in the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists and by the Center for Arms Control of the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology. For further detailed information on the environmental consequences of nuclear war, please visit his website at www.nucleardarkness.org


[1] A. Robock, L. Oman, G. L. Stenchikov, O. B. Toon, C. Bardeen, and R. Turco, “Climatic consequences of regional nuclear conflicts”, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, Vol. 7, 2007, p. 2003-2012.

[2]  M. Mills, O. Toon, R. Turco, D. Kinnison, R. Garcia, “Massive global ozone loss predicted following regional nuclear conflict”, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (USA), Apr 8,2008, vol. 105(14), pp. 5307-12.

[3]  O. Toon , A. Robock, and R. Turco, “The Environmental Consequences of Nuclear War”, Physics  Today, vol. 61, No. 12, 2008, p. 37-42.

[4]  R. Turco, O. Toon, T. Ackermann, J. Pollack, and C. Sagan, “Nuclear Winter: Global consequences of multiple nuclear explosions”, Science, Vol. 222, No. 4630, December 1983, pp. 1283-1292.

[5]  A. Robock, L. Oman, G. Stenchikov, “Nuclear winter revisited with a modern climate model and current nuclear arsenals: Still catastrophic consequences”, Journal of Geophysical Research – Atmospheres, Vol. 112, No. D13, 2007. p. 4 of 14.

[6] I. Helfand, ”An Assessment of the Extent of Projected Global Famine Resulting From Limited, Regional Nuclear War”, 2007, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Leeds, MA.

[7] In 2009, India and Pakistan were estimated by the NRDC to have a total of 140 to 160 operational nuclear weapons, and there are 32 other non-nuclear weapon states which have sufficient fissionable nuclear materials to construct weapons, some in a relatively short period of time.

[8] Robock, et al., “Climatic consequences…, op. cit., p. 2003-2012.

[9] Ibid.

[10] S. Starr, “Catastrophic Climatic Consequences of Nuclear Conflicts”, INESAP Bulletin 28, April 2008, Figure 1.

[11] I. Helfand., op. cit.

[12] M. Mills, et al, “Massive global ozone loss . . . op. cit.

[13] Personal correspondence with Dr. Paul Newman of NASA, Nov. 20, 2009.

[14] High-yield weapons are generally 8 to 75 times more powerful than low-yield Hiroshima-size weapons.

[15] S. Starr., “High-Alert Nuclear Weapons: the Forgotten Danger”, SGR Newsletter, Autumn, 2008, p.1.

[16] Launch-On-Warning (LOW) is a launch of nuclear weapons after Early Warning Systems (EWS) identify an incoming nuclear attack, but before one or more nuclear detonations provide unequivocal proof that the perceived attack is in fact a nuclear attack. High-alert nuclear-armed ballistic missiles, EWS and nuclear command and control systems, all working together, provide the U.S. and Russia the capability to implement LOW. The combination of LOW capability with LOW policy has created what is commonly referred to as launch-on-warning status.

[17] O. B. Toon et al, “The Environmental Consequences of Nuclear War”, p. 38.

[18]  Personal correspondence with Dr. Luke Oman of NASA, Dec. 1, 2008.

[19] A. Robock, et al, “Nuclear winter revisited  . . . op. cit., p. 6 of 14.

[20] Ibid.

[21] Ibid, p. 6 of 14.

[22] O. Toon, et al, “The Environmental Consequences of Nuclear Wa”, op. cit. p. 37.

[23] Robock et al., “Nuclear winter revisited…, op.cit., Figure 4.

[24] S.  Starr, “Catastrophic Climatic Consequences of Nuclear Conflicts”, Updated 2009 version (from INESAP Bulletin 28, April 2008), Fig. 4, http://www.nucleardarkness.org/warconsequences/catastrophicclimaticconsequences/

[25] A. Phillips, S. Starr, “Change Launch on Warning Policy”, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology Center for Arms Control, Energy and Environmental Studies, 2006; www.armscontrol.ru/pubs/en/change-low.pdf

[26] According to the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Russia has about 13,000 nuclear weapons and the U.S. has about 9,400 nuclear weapons, see R. Norris, H. Kristensen, “Nuclear Notebook: Worldwide deployments of nuclear weapons, 2009”, Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Nov/Dec 2009, DOI: 10.2968/065006010, http://thebulletin.metapress.com/content/xm38g50653435657/fulltext.pdf

Nuclear Darkness
language

Deadly Climate Change From Nuclear War:
A threat to human existence

Steven Starr, PSR, University of Missouri 

Abstract

A tiny fraction of the operational nuclear arsenals, if detonated within large cities, would generate enough smoke to cause catastrophic disruptions of the global climate[1]and massive destruction of the protective stratospheric ozone layer.[2] Environmental devastation caused by a war fought with many thousands of strategic nuclear weapons would quickly leave the Earth uninhabitable.[3]

Deadly Climate Change and Massive Ozone Destruction from Nuclear War

Nuclear detonations within urban and industrial areas would ignite immense firestorms which would burn everything imaginable and create millions of tons of thick, black smoke. Much of this smoke would rapidly be lofted above cloud level, into the stratosphere, where it would block warming sunlight from reaching the lower atmosphere and surface of the Earth. Sunlight would then markedly heat the upper atmosphere and cause massive destruction of the protective ozone layer, while darkness below would produce average surface temperatures on Earth characteristic of those experienced during an Ice Age.

The darkness and global cooling predicted to result from nuclear war (along with massive radioactive fallout, pyrotoxins, and ozone depletion) was first described in 1983 as “nuclear winter”.[4] These initial studies estimated the smoke from nuclear firestorms would stay in the stratosphere for about a year. However in 2006, researchers using modern computer models found the smoke would form a global stratospheric smoke layer that would last for ten years.[5]

The longevity of such a smoke layer would allow much smaller quantities of smoke than first predicted in the 1980’s to have a great impact upon both global climate and atmospheric ozone which blocks ultraviolet (UV) light. Thus scientists predict that even a “regional” nuclear conflict could produce enough smoke to significantly cool average global surface temperatures, reduce precipitation, and vastly increase the amount of dangerous UV light reaching the surface of Earth.

In other words, a nuclear war fought between such nations as India and Pakistan would produce enough smoke to make the blue skies of Earth appear grey. Although the amount of sunlight blocked by this smoke would not produce the profound darkening of the Earth predicted in a nuclear winter (following a nuclear war fought with thousands of strategic nuclear weapons), the deadly climate change created by the regional conflict would likely have devastating global effects upon all human populations through its negative influence upon agriculture.[6]

Nuclear War Fought with Hiroshima-size (15 kiloton) Low-Yield Nuclear Weapons

In 2006, U.S. researchers used a NASA computer model (Model 1E, also used for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change to predict global warming) to evaluate the effects of a regional nuclear war fought in the sub-tropics.[7] 50 Hiroshima-size nuclear weapons (15 kilotons per weapon) were detonated in the largest cities of each combatant nation (100 total detonations).

The studies predicted the nuclear explosions would kill 20 million people in the war zone, the equivalent to half of all the people who died during World War II. The conflict would also significantly disrupt global climate. Up to 5 million tons of smoke from burning cities would quickly rise above cloud level into the stratosphere, and within 2 weeks would form a global stratospheric smoke layer which would remain in place for about 10 years.[8]

The computer models estimated this smoke layer would block 7–10% of warming sunlight from reaching the surface of the Earth. Average surface temperatures beneath the smoke would become colder than any experienced during the last 1000 years. There would be a corresponding shortening of growing seasons by up to 30 days and significant reductions in average rainfall in many areas, with a 40% decrease of precipitation in the Asian monsoon region.[9]

Such rapid and drastic climate change would have major impacts on global grain reserves, which already are at 50 year lows.9 Grain exports would likely cease for several years from large exporting nations like Canada.[10] The 700 million people now living on the edge of starvation, along with those populations heavily dependent upon grain imports, would face mass starvation as grain reserves disappeared, prices skyrocketed and hoarding occurred. Global nuclear famine is the predicted result of this scenario. As many as one billion people could die during the years subsequent to the deadly climate change created by this level of nuclear conflict.[11]

Stratospheric Ozone Destruction and Increased Levels of Harmful Ultraviolet (UV-B) Light

A stratospheric smoke layer would also cause massive destruction of the protective ozone layer. Studies in 2008 predicted smoke from a regional nuclear conflict (as described above) would create ozone losses of 25-45% above mid latitudes, and 50-70% above northern high latitudes persisting for 5 years, with substantial losses continuing for 5 additional years.[12] Severe ozone depletion would allow intense levels of harmful ultraviolet light (UV-B) to reach the surface of the Earth – even with the stratospheric smoke layer in place.

Regional Nuclear War between and Pakistan

100 Hiroshima-size (15 kiloton) nuclear weapons detonated in urban areas

Day 2
smoke from burning cities enters stratosphere
Day 8
global smoke layer forms

Day 64
10% of sunlight blocked from reaching the surface of Earth

100 nuclear explosions create massive firestorms in the cities of India and Pakistan. 5 million tons of smoke rises above cloud level into the stratosphere and forms a global smoke layer which will remain in place for 10 years.  The smoke layer will block 10% of sunlight from reaching the surface of the Earth.

Loss of warming sunlight creates the coldest average surface temperatures on Earth in the last 1000 years.  Prolonged cold acts to reduce average precipitation by 40% to 50% in some areas. Sunlight heats the smoke in the stratosphere; the hot smoke destroys 25% to 45% of the protective ozone layer above the populated mid-latitudes and 50% to 70% of the ozone above the northerly latitudes, allowing massive amounts of harmful UV light to reach marine and terrestrial ecosystems.

The combined decreases in average temperature, precipitation, sunlight and stratospheric ozone would act to significantly shorten growing seasons and reduce agricultural production for several years. Conditions would then slowly return to normal over a period of about a decade. Given that world grain reserves are now only adequate to sustain human populations for about 30 to 50 days, it is likely that prolonged and severe food shortages will result from such drastic changes in global climate.  Those human populations already living at the verge of starvation and dependent upon imported food supplies will be at extreme risk of famine and starvation if grain exports from North America and Eurasia are suddenly halted by Ice Age weather conditions.  It has been estimated that up to 1 billion people could starve to death following this regional nuclear conflict.

Credits

The smoke images were created by Dr. Luke Oman of Rutgers University and are reproduced with his permission. The data on deadly climate change from regional nuclear conflict is taken from “Climatic consequences of regional nuclear conflicts”, by Robock A., Oman L., Stenchikov G., Toon O. B., Bardeen C., and Turco R., Atmospheric     Chemistry and Physics, Vol. 7, 2007, p. 2003-2012; the data on ozone depletion is from “Massive global ozone loss predicted following regional nuclear conflict”, by Mills M, Toon O, Turco R, Kinnison D, Garcia R (2008). Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (USA), Apr 8, vol. 105(14), pp. 5307-12; data on famine, I. Helfand, An Assessment of the Extent of Projected Global Famine Resulting From Limited, Regional Nuclear War, 2007, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Leeds, MA

Global stratospheric ozone levels would fall to near those now seen only over Antarctica during the formation of the “ozone hole”. The UV index in the mid-latitudes would increase by 42–108%, which would cause fair skinned people to suffer sunburn in as little as 7 minutes. In the high northerly latitudes, the UV index would increase by 130–290%, shortening the time required for fair skinned people to sunburn from 32–43 minutes to 8–19 minutes.[13]

Massive increases of UV-B light would clearly have negative impacts upon marine and terrestrial ecosystems, yet no research is being done to investigate the consequences of such a scenario. Likewise, no studies using modern climate models have yet been done to assess ozone depletion following larger nuclear conflicts fought with high-yield strategic nuclear weapons. 

Nuclear War Fought with High-Yield Strategic Nuclear Weapons[14]

The high-yield strategic nuclear weapons in the operational arsenals of the U.S. and Russia have a combined explosive power at least 500 times greater than the low-yield weapons detonated in the regional war conflict. A large fraction of these strategic weapons are kept on high-alert status (in 2009, more than 2000 U.S. and Russian strategic warheads were on high-alert).[15] Virtually all their land-based intercontinental ballistic missiles are kept ready to launch within 30 seconds to 3 minutes, apparently operating under the policy of Launch-On-Warning.[16]

In 2008, scientists predicted the detonation of 4400 strategic nuclear weapons in large cities could cause 770 million prompt fatalities and produce up to 180 million tons of thick, black smoke.[17] Ten days after detonation, the smoke would form a dense global stratospheric smoke layer which would block about 70% of warming sunlight from reaching the surface of the Northern Hemisphere and 35% of sunlight from reaching the Southern Hemisphere.[18]

The resulting nuclear darkness would cause rapid cooling of more than 20º C (36º F) over large areas of North America and of more than 30º C (54º F) over much of Eurasia (Figure 2). Daily minimum temperatures would fall below freezing in the largest agricultural areas of the Northern Hemisphere for a period of between one to three years. Average global surface temperatures would become colder than those experienced 18,000 years ago at the height of the last Ice Age.[19]

The cooling of the Earth’s surface would weaken the global hydrological cycle and the Northern Hemisphere summer monsoon circulations would collapse because the temperature differences that drive them would not develop. As a result, average global precipitation is predicted to decrease by 45%.[20] 

The cumulative effects of deadly climate change and ozone destruction would eliminate growing seasons for more than a decade. Catastrophic climatic effects lasting for many years would occur in regions far removed from the target areas or the countries involved in the conflict.[21] Under such conditions, it is likely that most humans and large animal populations would die of starvation.[22]

Figure 2: Surface Air Temperature (degree C) changes averaged for June, July, and August in the year after 150 million tons of black smoke forms a global stratospheric smoke layer.[23]

Global Warming versus GlobalCooling from Nuclear War

http://www.nucleardarkness.org/include/nucleardarkness/images/en/graph/global_warming_1000year_full.jpg

Figure 3: Northern Hemisphere average surface air temperatures during the last 1000 years contrasted with forecast temperature drops from a range of nuclear conflicts.[24]

Conclusions

The scientific studies summarized in this paper make it clear that the environmental consequences of a “regional” nuclear conflict could kill hundreds of millions of people far from the war zone. Deadly climate change caused by a war fought with the strategic nuclear arsenals of the U.S. and Russia would threaten the continued survival of the human species.

Yet neither the U.S., nor Russia, nor any other nuclear weapons state has ever officially evaluated what effects a war fought with their nuclear arsenals would have upon the Earth’s climate and ecosystems.[25] Surely it is time for such evaluations to be openly conducted and made subject to public discussion. Nations with nuclear weapons should be required to create Environmental Impact Statements on the likely results of the detonation of their arsenals in conflict.

Deadly climate change from nuclear war must become a primary topic in the debate about the need for “a world without nuclear weapons”. This discussion must include the dangers posed by the nuclear arsenals of all nations, including those in the U.S. and Russia. A failure to recognize and describe the omnicidal potential of strategic nuclear arsenals will prevent the abolition discussion from developing the sense of urgency needed to bring about fundamental change in the nuclear status quo.

The nuclear weapons which are kept ready for virtually instant use constitute a well-maintained self-destruct mechanism for the human race. What political or national goals can possibly justify the existence of such a threat? There can be no “victory” in universal suicide.

Therefore, the U.S. and Russia must recognize the senselessness of continued preparations for a nuclear war, or a “successful” nuclear first-strike, which would make the whole world – including their own country – uninhabitable. It is imperative that they renounce the first use of nuclear weapons, stand-down their high-alert nuclear forces (which make accidental nuclear war possible through launch-on-warning postures),[26] and dismantle the tens of thousands of nuclear weapons in their active and reserve arsenals.[27]

Nuclear weapons cannot ultimately provide “national security” when a single failure of nuclear deterrence can end human history. Unless deterrence works perfectly forever, nuclear arsenals will eventually be used in conflict.  We must abolish these arsenals – before they abolish us.

About the Author:  Steven Starr is a Senior Scientist with Physicians for Social Responsibility, and Director of the Clinical Laboratory Science Program at the University of Missouri. He has been published in the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists and by the Center for Arms Control of the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology. For further detailed information on the environmental consequences of nuclear war, please visit his website at www.nucleardarkness.org



  • [1] A. Robock, L. Oman, G. L. Stenchikov, O. B. Toon, C. Bardeen, and R. Turco, “Climatic consequences of regional nuclear conflicts”, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, Vol. 7, 2007, p. 2003-2012.
  • [2]  M. Mills, O. Toon, R. Turco, D. Kinnison, R. Garcia, “Massive global ozone loss predicted following regional nuclear conflict”, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (USA), Apr 8,2008, vol. 105(14), pp. 5307-12.
  • [3]  O. Toon , A. Robock, and R. Turco, “The Environmental Consequences of Nuclear War”, Physics  Today, vol. 61, No. 12, 2008, p. 37-42.
  • [4]  R. Turco, O. Toon, T. Ackermann, J. Pollack, and C. Sagan, “Nuclear Winter: Global consequences of multiple nuclear explosions”, Science, Vol. 222, No. 4630, December 1983, pp. 1283-1292.
  • [5]  A. Robock, L. Oman, G. Stenchikov, “Nuclear winter revisited with a modern climate model and current nuclear arsenals: Still catastrophic consequences”, Journal of Geophysical Research – Atmospheres, Vol. 112, No. D13, 2007. p. 4 of 14.
  • [6] I. Helfand, ”An Assessment of the Extent of Projected Global Famine Resulting From Limited, Regional Nuclear War”, 2007, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Leeds, MA.
  • [7] In 2009, India and Pakistan were estimated by the NRDC to have a total of 140 to 160 operational nuclear weapons, and there are 32 other non-nuclear weapon states which have sufficient fissionable nuclear materials to construct weapons, some in a relatively short period of time.
  • [8] Robock, et al., “Climatic consequences…, op. cit., p. 2003-2012.
  • [9] Ibid.
  • [10] S. Starr, “Catastrophic Climatic Consequences of Nuclear Conflicts”, INESAP Bulletin 28, April 2008, Figure 1.
  • [11] I. Helfand., op. cit.
  • [12] M. Mills, et al, “Massive global ozone loss . . . op. cit.
  • [13] Personal correspondence with Dr. Paul Newman of NASA, Nov. 20, 2009.
  • [14] High-yield weapons are generally 8 to 75 times more powerful than low-yield Hiroshima-size weapons.
  • [15] S. Starr., “High-Alert Nuclear Weapons: the Forgotten Danger”, SGR Newsletter, Autumn, 2008, p.1.
  • [16] Launch-On-Warning (LOW) is a launch of nuclear weapons after Early Warning Systems (EWS) identify an incoming nuclear attack, but before one or more nuclear detonations provide unequivocal proof that the perceived attack is in fact a nuclear attack. High-alert nuclear-armed ballistic missiles, EWS and nuclear command and control systems, all working together, provide the U.S. and Russia the capability to implement LOW. The combination of LOW capability with LOW policy has created what is commonly referred to as launch-on-warning status.
  • [17] O. B. Toon et al, “The Environmental Consequences of Nuclear War”, p. 38.
  • [18]  Personal correspondence with Dr. Luke Oman of NASA, Dec. 1, 2008.
  • [19] A. Robock, et al, “Nuclear winter revisited  . . . op. cit., p. 6 of 14.
  • [20] Ibid.
  • [21] Ibid, p. 6 of 14.
  • [22] O. Toon, et al, “The Environmental Consequences of Nuclear Wa”, op. cit. p. 37.
  • [23] Robock et al., “Nuclear winter revisited…, op.cit., Figure 4.
  • [24] S.  Starr, “Catastrophic Climatic Consequences of Nuclear Conflicts”, Updated 2009 version (from INESAP Bulletin 28, April 2008), Fig. 4, http://www.nucleardarkness.org/warconsequences/catastrophicclimaticconsequences/
  • [25] There are also other important considerations which must be made when estimating the environmental and ecological impacts of nuclear war.  These include the release of enormous amounts of radioactive fallout, pyrotoxins and toxic industrial chemicals into the ecosystems.
  • [26] A. Phillips, S. Starr, “Change Launch on Warning Policy”, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology Center for Arms Control, Energy and Environmental Studies, 2006; www.armscontrol.ru/pubs/en/change-low.pdf
  • [27] According to the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Russia has about 13,000 nuclear weapons and the U.S. has about 9,400 nuclear weapons, see R. Norris, H. Kristensen, “Nuclear Notebook: Worldwide deployments of nuclear weapons, 2009”, Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Nov/Dec 2009, DOI: 10.2968/065006010, http://thebulletin.metapress.com/content/xm38g50653435657/fulltext.pdf