核黑暗
language

核当量是广岛爆炸原子弹100倍的核武器可以产生5 百万吨的烟尘

Graph Scale
印度和巴基斯坦之间的一场核战争发生后, 相当于广岛原子弹爆炸威力100倍的核武器(一万五千吨)在这些国家的大都市引爆, 五百万吨烟尘将上升至大气层进入平流层并且迅速传播到全球。两个半球被阻挡到达地球表面阳光的烟尘层长年笼罩。烟尘被释放入大气层一年后,欧亚大陆和北美洲农作物生长区域的温度会下降好几摄氏度。农作物生长季节相应缩短30天,全球平均降水量会减少10%。

100枚低当量核武器的战争

印度和巴基斯坦之间局部核战争后果的总结(在罗格斯大学,科罗拉多大学波尔得分校和加州大学洛杉矶分校研究完成)

  • 战争将引爆高于广岛爆炸原子弹一百倍核当量的核武器(目前在印巴核武库内的储量),而这些仅是当前警戒状态和已部署的美-俄核武器总易爆核当量的百分之零点五
  • 两千万人将死于核爆炸的直接影响,这相当于是二次世界大战期间死亡人数的一半。
  • 在印度和巴基斯坦的大都市引爆的核武器将产生大范围的核火焰风暴,并释放出数百万吨的烟尘。
  • 1到5百万吨的烟尘将迅速升至云层以上的50 km高空,进入平流层
  • 烟尘在全世界蔓延,形成能阻拦到达地球表面阳光的平流层烟尘罩
  • 核爆炸后10天之内,北半球地表温度将比工业革命前的小冰川时期还要低
  • 核战争导致的温度变化,会比过去500年来最大规模火山爆发造成的影响大两倍。那次发生在1816年的火山爆发,造成了“没有夏天的一年” 的后果。
  • 这种核爆炸导致的气候变冷将会使全球平均降雨量减少10%,并使亚洲夏季季风大量减少。
  • 25-40%具有防护作用的臭氧层在中纬度区域将被毁坏,并且50-70%在北部高纬度地区将被损耗。随后大量有害的紫外线直接照射地球,将对人类,动物和植物的生活带来显著的负面影响。
  • 全球气候上的变化将使北半球农作物的生长季节显著缩短,而这种情况还将持续多年。在加拿大,最终会因为气温太低使麦子无法生长。
  • 目前已经处于历史低水平的世界粮食储备,随着气候的恶劣影响,最终将完全耗尽。 粮食出口国可能将停止出口以满足自己国家的食物供应。
  • 一些医学专家推测,核战争爆发后,伴随世界粮食短缺,高达十亿严重依赖粮食进口的国家的人们会死于饥饿。

小规模核战争(印度-巴基斯坦核冲突)导致的夏季温度变化。

reduced temps after war with 5 million tons of smoke
美国地球物理学联合会授权转载修改。

在印度和巴基斯坦的中心城市引爆相当于100倍广岛爆炸原子弹威力的核武器,并释放五百万吨烟尘进入大气层之后,引发的表面温度的变化。烟尘进入大气层后的第一年,六月、七月、八月的平均温度。在陆地上将产生最显著的影响,而且在热带的海洋地区将造成持续的气温下降。南极洲只有小范围地区变暖,其强度只是正常冬季年间变化的波动范围,而不会有明显的改变。

Nuclear Darkness
language

5 million tons of smoke created by 100 Hiroshima-size nuclear weapons

Graph Scale
Following a war between India and Pakistan, in which 100 Hiroshima-size (15 kiloton) nuclear weapons are detonated in the large cities of these nations, 5 million tons of smoke is lofted high into the stratosphere and is quickly spread around the world. A smoke layer forms around both Hemispheres which will remain in place for many years to block sunlight from reaching the surface of the Earth. One year after the smoke injection there would be temperature drops of several degrees C within the grain-growing interiors of Eurasia and North America. There would be a corresponding shortening of growing seasons by up to 30 days and a 10% reduction in average global precipitation.

War with 100 low-yield nuclear weapons

Summary of Consequences of Regional nuclear war between India and Pakistan(from studies done at Rutgers, the University of Colorado-Boulder and UCLA)

  • War is fought with 100 Hiroshima-size weapons (currently available in India-Pakistan arsenals), which have half of 1 percent (0.05%) of the total explosive power of all currently operational and deployed U.S.-Russian nuclear weapons
  • 20 million people die from the direct effects of the weapons, which is equal to nearly half the number of people killed during World War II
  • Weapons detonated in the largest cities of India and Pakistan create massive firestorms which produce millions of tons of smoke
  • 1 to 5 million tons of smoke quickly rise 50 km above cloud level into the stratosphere
  • The smoke spreads around the world, forming a stratospheric smoke layer that blocks sunlight from reaching the surface of Earth
  • Within 10 days following the explosions, temperatures in the Northern Hemisphere would become colder than those experienced during the pre-industrial Little Ice Age
  • These nuclear war-induced effects on temperature would be twice as large as those which followed the largest volcanic eruption in the last 500 years, in 1816, which caused “The Year Without Summer”
  • This cold weather would also cause a 10% decline in average global rainfall and a large reduction in the Asian summer monsoon.
  • 25-40% of the protective ozone layer would be destroyed at the mid-latitudes, and 50-70% would be destroyed at northern high latitudes. Massive increases of harmful UV light would result, with significantly negative effects on human, animal and plant life.
  • These changes in global climate would cause significantly shortened growing seasons in the Northern Hemisphere for at least years. It would be too cold to grow wheat in most of Canada.
  • World grain stocks, which already are at historically low levels, would be completely depleted. Grain exporting nations would likely cease exports in order to meet their own food needs.
  • Some medical experts predict that ensuing food shortages would cause hundreds of millions of already hungry people, who now depend upon food imports, to starve to death during the years following the nuclear conflict.

Temperature changes in summer (°C) following a small nuclear war (India-Pakistan Conflict)

reduced temps after war with 5 million tons of smoke
Reproduced/modified by permission of American Geophysical Union.

Surface air temperature changes following the injection of 5 million tons of smoke into the stratosphere after the detonation of a total of 100 Hiroshima-size nuclear weapons in the largest cities of India and Pakistan [for the 5 Tg standard case]. Temperatures are averaged for June, July, and August of the first year following the smoke injection. Effects are largest over land, but there is substantial cooling over tropical oceans, too. The warming over Antarctica is for a small area, is part of normal winter interannual variability, and is not significant.