核黑暗
language

对比全球变暖与核战争导致的全球变冷

起因于核冲突的气候变化速度要比全球气候变暖预测产生影响的速度快数千倍,同时也更具灾难性。1 核战争造成的气候变化在几天或几星期内就会立即出现,这将使人类,植物和动物界没有任何适应的时间。

值得注意的是,我们可以运用预测全球变暖结果的相同方法和气候模型去研究预测核战争导致的全球变冷。这些气候模式已经成功的用于在美国的广泛评估中的火山灰尘引发的地面冷却效应的研究及国际第四次评估气候变化讨论的多国相互比较。2

在表1中,我们将对比在北半球由小,中,大规模核冲突造成的地表平均温度下降与上个世纪全球变暖带来的影响。表2,最近1000年期间地表平均气温的变化。

Global Warming vs. Cooling from nuclear war - 1880 to 2010

美国地球物理学联合会授权转载修改。

图1 : 对比从1880年到2006年期间全球变暖的情况与由一定范围内的核战争引起的可预测温度下降的影响。 印度-巴基斯坦间的核战争只引爆相当于当前部署和待命状态的美俄核军火库的核当量的百分之零点五3

Global Warming vs. Cooling from nuclear war - 1880 to 2010

美国地球物理学联合会授权转载修改。

图2 : 对比过去的1000年间北半球平均表面气温变化与预测一定范围内的核战争引起的温度下降的影响。4

当然,在对核战争导致的全面性环境和生态学冲击的评估时,还有其他必须加以考虑的重要因素。 包括巨大数量的放射性沉降物、热毒素 (大火产生的有毒气体)和有毒的化工产物进入生态系统。同时由于臭氧的耗竭到达地球表面致命的紫外光大幅度增加(目前还没有利用现代气候模型推算一次大规模核战争对臭氧耗竭的影响的研究)。但是最近的研究证明,即使仅仅引爆当前全球核武库中的极小部分核武器也足以导致臭氧的大量消耗。在对比核冲突的危险与目前人类和地球上的生物面对的其他潜在危险时,核战争造成的所有这些衍生危害必须加以考虑。

1 此处并非试图弱化全球变暖的危险,因为全球变暖的问题的确值得密切关注。该对比旨在说明核战争造成的潜在环境危害,籍此希望核战争至少应该和全球变暖问题同等对待。
2 Robock A, Oman L, Stenchikov G (2007b).现代气候模型演示的核冬天和当前的核武库:灾难性的后果. 地球物理研究学报,第112卷,D13107,doi:10.1029/2006JD008235

3 Robock A, Oman L, Stenchikov G (2007b).现代气候模型演示的核冬天和当前的核武库:灾难性的后果. 地球物理研究学报,第112卷,D13107,doi:10.1029/2006JD008235;图8

4 Robock A, Oman L, Stenchikov G (2007b).现代气候模型演示的核冬天和当前的核武库:灾难性的后果. 地球物理研究学报,第112卷,D13107,doi:10.1029/2006JD008235;图9

Nuclear Darkness
language

Global Warming versus Cooling from Nuclear War

Climatic changes resulting from nuclear conflict would occur many thousands of times faster – and thus would likely be far more catastrophic – than the climatic changes predicted as a result of global warming.1   The rapidity of the war-induced changes, appearing in a matter of days and weeks, would allow human populations and the whole plant and animal kingdoms no time to adapt.

It is worth noting that the same methods and climate models used to predict global warming were used in these studies to predict global cooling resulting from nuclear war.  These climate models have proved highly successful in describing the cooling effects of volcanic clouds during extensive U.S. evaluations and in international intercomparisons performed as part of the Fourth Assessment of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.2

Predicted drops in average surface temperatures in the Northern Hemisphere caused by small, moderate and large nuclear conflicts are contrasted with the effects of global warming during the last century in Figure 1 and with average surface air temperatures during the last 1000 years in Figure 2.

Global Warming vs. Cooling from nuclear war - 1880 to 2010

Reproduced/modified by permission of American Geophysical Union.

Figure 1: Observed Global Warming during the period 1880 through 2006 contrasted with predicted temperature drops from a range of nuclear wars. The India-Pakistan war detonated only one half of 1% of the explosive power of the currently deployed and operational U.S. and Russian nuclear arsenals. 3

Global Warming vs. Cooling from nuclear war - 1880 to 2010

Reproduced/modified by permission of American Geophysical Union.

Figure 2: Northern Hemisphere average surface air temperatures during the last 1000 years contrasted with forecast temperature drops from a range of nuclear conflicts.4

There are, of course, other important considerations which must be made when estimating the overall environmental and ecological impacts of nuclear war.  These must include the release of enormous amounts of radioactive fallout, pyrotoxins (poisonous gases produced in large fires) and toxic industrial chemicals into the ecosystems. There will also be massive increases in the amount of deadly ultraviolet light which will reach the surface of the Earth as a result of ozone depletion (no calculations on ozone depletion from a large nuclear war have been done using modern climate models, but recent calculations predict massive depletion from nuclear conflict using only a tiny fraction of the current global nuclear arsenal).  All these by-products of nuclear war must be taken into account when comparing the danger of nuclear conflict to other potential dangers now confronting humanity and life on Earth.

1 This comparison is not meant to minimize the dangers of global warming, which warrant grave concern, rather it is intended to make the point that the potential environmental dangers posed by nuclear war should receive at least as much attention as is that now being afforded to the issue of global warming.
2 Robock A, Oman L, Stenchikov G (2007b). Nuclear winter revisited with a modern climate model and current nuclear arsenals: Still catastrophic consequences. Journal of Geophysical Research, vol. 112, D13107, doi:10.1029/2006JD008235..

3 Robock A, Oman L, Stenchikov G (2007b). Nuclear winter revisited with a modern climate model and current nuclear arsenals: Still catastrophic consequences. Journal of Geophysical Research, vol. 112, D13107, doi:10.1029/2006JD008235; Figure 8

4 Robock A, Oman L, Stenchikov G (2007b). Nuclear winter revisited with a modern climate model and current nuclear arsenals: Still catastrophic consequences. Journal of Geophysical Research, vol. 112, D13107, doi:10.1029/2006JD008235; Figure 9.