核黑暗
language

什么是核黑暗?

在一次核战争中,灼烧的城市将产生数百万吨浓厚黑烟。这股浓烟升入云层,进入平流层,进而迅速播散到整个地球。 一次大规模核战争产生的烟尘足以阻止大部分到达地面的阳光。

核战争爆发后,烟尘将弥漫笼罩全球

经罗格斯大学的Drs. Robock、Rutgers,Oman和Stenchikov授权转载并略加修改
随着一次大规模的美-俄核战争的爆发,核爆炸将在城市和工业区产生巨大的火灾,释放一亿五千万吨烟尘升入平流层,并迅速播散到世界各地,在南北半球形成了巨大的烟尘罩。烟尘将在平流层停留数年,并且阻拦阳光到达地球表面。新的研究预测,即使2012年以前美俄依照SORT协议( Strategic Offensive Reductions Treaty,消减战略进攻性核武器)大幅度消减核武库中核武器的数量,这种平流层烟尘沉积仍然有可能发生。

核黑暗如何引发致命性全球气候变化

进入地球平流层的大量烟尘会吸收太阳辐射,迅速在地球表面形成冰河时期的温度。寒冷将持续很长时间; 美国航空航天局计算机模型预测在一次核战争发生十年后,仍有40%烟尘停留于平流层。

0.5%的美俄核武库的威力能引发足以影响全球性气候的核黑暗。如果在印度和巴基斯坦的中心城市引爆100枚相当于广岛爆炸的原子弹,将释放五百万吨烟尘进入平流层。 这些烟尘会大面积破坏地球臭氧保护层并且会导致北半球的气温下降到小冰河时期的水平。农作物生长期的明显缩短可能造成十亿人因饥饿而死

一次大规模核战争可以向平流层释放1.5亿吨烟尘,使全球气温比他们在1.8万年前最后一个冰河时代最冷时期还低。毁灭性的霜冻将持续1-3年每天出现在北半球的主要农业区。全球平均降水会减少45%。地球的臭氧层将会耗竭。农作物的生长季节将被破坏。

大规模核战争毫无疑问将造成环境灾难,并导致大多数人死于饥饿致命的气候变化,放射性微粒沉降和有毒污染会导致已经脆弱不堪的生态系统彻底崩溃。结果将产生物种大规模的绝迹,将毁灭许多生活在食物链顶端的动物--包括人类。

虽然启动核战争仅需要几分钟,但其结果却使地球再也无法居住。美国和俄罗斯仍保持,数百枚携带数千枚核弹头的飞弹处于高度警戒和全天24小时待命状态。它们可以在接到预警后几分钟内发射,并在不到30分钟击中目标。核威慑的任何一个故障均可能导致这些武器在比读完这个网页所需的更短时间内发射。

任何人,任何国家都没有权利发动可能毁灭人类的战争。

核武器必须被拆除和销毁。我们需要起草一份协议,或核武器公约,用以禁止核武器,并确保其最终被销毁。我们能够而且必须做到这一点。

全球气候变暖与核战争引发的全球气候变冷

美国地球物理学联合会授权转载修改。
对比从1880年到2006年期间全球变暖的情况与由一定范围内的核战争引起的可预测温度下降的影响。 印度-巴基斯坦间的核战争只引爆相当于当前部署和待命状态的美俄核军火库的核当量的百分之零点五

Nuclear Darkness
language

What is nuclear darkness?

In a nuclear war, burning cities would create millions of tons of thick, black smoke. This smoke would rise above cloud level, into the stratosphere, where it would quickly spread around the planet. A large nuclear war would produce enough smoke to block most sunlight from reaching the Earth's surface.

Smoke Surrounds the Earth After a Nuclear War

Reproduced/modified by permission of Drs. Robock, Oman and Stenchikov of Rutgers University
Following a large U.S.-Russian nuclear war, enormous fires created by nuclear explosions in cities and industrial areas cause 150 million tons of smoke to be lofted high into the stratosphere. The smoke is quickly spread around the world and forms a dense smoke layer around both Hemispheres; the smoke will remain in the stratosphere for many years and act to block sunlight from reaching the surface of the Earth. New studies predict this level of stratospheric smoke deposition will still be possible even after planned reductions in U.S.-Russian nuclear arsenals are completed under the SORT Treaty in 2012.

How would nuclear darkness cause deadly global climate change?

Massive absorption of warming sunlight by a global stratospheric smoke layer would rapidly create Ice Age temperatures on Earth . The cold would last a long time; NASA computer models predict 40% of the smoke would still remain in the stratosphere ten years after a nuclear war.

Half of 1% of the explosive power of US-Russian nuclear weapons can create enough nuclear darkness to impact global climate. 100 Hiroshima-size weapons exploded in the cities of India and Pakistan would put up to 5 million tons of smoke in the stratosphere . The smoke would destroy much of the Earth's protective ozone layer and drop temperatures in the Northern Hemisphere to levels last seen in the Little Ice Age. Shortened growing seasons could cause up to 1 billion people to starve to death.

A large nuclear war could put 150 million tons of smoke in the stratosphere and make global temperatures colder than they were 18,000 years ago during the coldest part of the last Ice Age. Killing frosts would occur every day for 1-3 years in the large agricultural regions of the Northern Hemisphere. Average global precipitation would be reduced by 45%. Earth's ozone layer would be decimated. Growing seasons would be eliminated.

A large nuclear war would utterly devastate the environment and cause most people to starve to death . Deadly climate change, radioactive fallout and toxic pollution would cause already stressed ecosystems to collapse. The result would be a mass extinction event that would wipe out many animals living at the top of the food chains - including human beings.

It only takes a few minutes to start a nuclear war that would leave the Earth uninhabitable. The U.S. and Russia keep hundreds of missiles armed with thousands of nuclear warheads on high-alert, 24 hours a day. They can be launched with only a few minutes warning and reach their targets in less than 30 minutes. A single failure of nuclear deterrence could cause these weapons to be launched in less time than it takes to read this page.

No person or nation has the right to start a war which could destroy the human race.

Nuclear weapons must be dismantled and abolished. A draft treaty, or Nuclear Weapons Convention, already exists which would ban nuclear weapons and ensure their elimination. We can and must make this happen.

Global Warming vs Cooling from Nuclear War

Reproduced/modified by permission of American Geophysical Union
Observed Global Warming during the period 1880 through 2006 contrasted with predicted temperature drops from a range of nuclear wars. The India-Pakistan war detonated only one half of 1% of the explosive power of the currently deployed and operational U.S. and Russian nuclear arsenals.